Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe but for a true Ky Hot Brown do not use mushrooms, use cream instead of milk, no egg, and always toast the bread under a broiler for 1-2 min per side. Country Ham can be added with the turkey giving even a greater "Bluegrass" fare. We love the Hot Browns in Louisville.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I make this every year for the Kentucky Derby and everyone loves it! I make a turkey tenderloin on the grill and use that as the turkey meat. Also, I find the sauce a little bland, so I add a handfull of cheddar cheese, some chicken bouillion and garlic salt to kick it up, and it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am from Kentucky and I love Hot Brown, but I don't see any reviews where they added ham to the recipe. I have never had it without ham in addition to the turkey, and have never had it with mushrooms. I guess it all depends on where you eat. It is always Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This dish is sooo yummy! It takes some time with all the different steps, but it is well worth it. I make this every year on Kentucky Derby Day. Certainly not for the calorie cautious, but a nice dish to splurge on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I wanted to try this cause it looks good and its something different. I thought it was OK.. It tasted pretty bland to me... actually it tasted a little floury. I think it needs more flavor. I didn't add the bacon cause i didnt have any, maybe that would have made it better. Next time i'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was awesome. We've been to the Brown during derby week and had these. So when I found this recipe, I was excited. What a great way to use leftover turkey. I had extra sauce left and put that over eggs the following morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Rocks Cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. My husband and I couldn't eat it. I guess I am not a southern belle and my husband is not a gentleman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Orizaba, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Not long ago we watched one of those travel/food shows on t.v. and the Brown Hotel's Hot Brown was featured. At the time we thought it looked interesting. Then just the other day I was browsing AR for recipes that would use up some of our leftover Thanksgiving turkey when I stumbled across this recipe. Made this today and we all loved it! Definitely a do-over! I followed recipe exactly for this first attempt; decided next time (and there will be many next times) that we'd like even more mushrooms (although I know they weren't part of the Brown Hotel's version, they are yummy). I also like the idea of trying more/other cheeses (romano, cheddar). Great recipe and very appreciative you shared it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good! My sauce turned out very runny! Is this normal? I added some more flour and some cream cheese to thicken it up. They turned out YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I was born and raised in KY and have always been a fan of the hot brown! This recipes was very good! The only thing I changed was I used 1 1/2 C shredded cheddar and 1/2C shredded parmesan(I have always had them with a cheddar sauce)! I also omitted the mushrooms because we don't use them back home on hot browns! Over all I thought it was very close to the original! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States