Kentucky Hot Brown Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am from Kentucky and I love Hot Brown, but I don't see any reviews where they added ham to the recipe. I have never had it without ham in addition to the turkey, and have never had it with mushrooms. I guess it all depends on where you eat. It is always Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This dish is sooo yummy! It takes some time with all the different steps, but it is well worth it. I make this every year on Kentucky Derby Day. Certainly not for the calorie cautious, but a nice dish to splurge on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I wanted to try this cause it looks good and its something different. I thought it was OK.. It tasted pretty bland to me... actually it tasted a little floury. I think it needs more flavor. I didn't add the bacon cause i didnt have any, maybe that would have made it better. Next time i'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was awesome. We've been to the Brown during derby week and had these. So when I found this recipe, I was excited. What a great way to use leftover turkey. I had extra sauce left and put that over eggs the following morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Rocks Cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. My husband and I couldn't eat it. I guess I am not a southern belle and my husband is not a gentleman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Orizaba, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Not long ago we watched one of those travel/food shows on t.v. and the Brown Hotel's Hot Brown was featured. At the time we thought it looked interesting. Then just the other day I was browsing AR for recipes that would use up some of our leftover Thanksgiving turkey when I stumbled across this recipe. Made this today and we all loved it! Definitely a do-over! I followed recipe exactly for this first attempt; decided next time (and there will be many next times) that we'd like even more mushrooms (although I know they weren't part of the Brown Hotel's version, they are yummy). I also like the idea of trying more/other cheeses (romano, cheddar). Great recipe and very appreciative you shared it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good! My sauce turned out very runny! Is this normal? I added some more flour and some cream cheese to thicken it up. They turned out YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I was born and raised in KY and have always been a fan of the hot brown! This recipes was very good! The only thing I changed was I used 1 1/2 C shredded cheddar and 1/2C shredded parmesan(I have always had them with a cheddar sauce)! I also omitted the mushrooms because we don't use them back home on hot browns! Over all I thought it was very close to the original! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made a turkey on the grill last sunday and was wondering what to make with the leftovers. Wow, I am glad I came across this. I didn't have any tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles. Gave it some zip. Wifey is not too fond of tomatoes, but she enjoyed this dish. In my recipe box for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi'sHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really good! Made for a KY Derby party and everyone loved it. Do make sure you toast the bread well, or it will get soggy. Three stars because it was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States