Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Can I use all purpose flour? I don't have unbleached one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This cake is absolutely delicious!!! I used the Butter Sauce just as the recipe is written for the mini bundt cakes (like bigger muffins). The last half of the cake batter was baked in a small bundt pan. I added fresh lemon juice to the remaining Butter Sauce and the family flipped over that one. They loved the regular Butter Sauce but chose the lemon flavored as their favorite. At any rate, I'm very grateful for this recipe ... it's wonderful!!! Thank you, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Leek, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Excellent!! I didn't change a thing, and it turned out absolutely delicious. Very moist and buttery and decadent. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Simple but elegant. Moist, buttery and sweet. Made miniature bundt cakes. Topped them with sifted powdered sugar, but you could use custard, berries or cream for alternative toppings. Very good recipe. I'd make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is pretty close to a typical pound cake recipe except that it is much lighter, less dense than pound cakes. Its tenderness is between a pound cake and a birthday-type cake. I really like it. Made cake exactly as recipe calls, except used almond extract instead of vanilla. The cake was done in 45 minutes, much longer than the indicated 60 minutes, and I realized that I baked it at 350 instead of 325. Needless to say, it was more than golden brown so the cake was probably dryer than it should be, based on everyone's comments that it is so moist. So I'm going to try it again but bake it at the correct temp next time. The flavor of the cake is excellent. I worried about the butter sauce making the cake too sweet but added it anyway. The next day, the cake was perfectly sweet! The parts if the cake with butter sauce are a nice surprise to the rest of the cake. I don't think it would be a good idea to saturate too much of the cake with butter sauce because this contrast is nice. I didn't have any problems taking the cake out of the pan despite using a pan that is NOT nonstick. I sprayed it with Pam and made sure there were no puddles of oil. Then I floured it well. While the cake was cooling, I took a butter knife and worked it around the sides and middle of the pan to loosen the cake from the pan. With a bit of wobbling, the cake popped right out. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clipthywings
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake was an immediate hit! My husband ate half of it, followed the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Easy and very moist. Cake did not last a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ravishing67
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I have made it hundred times and all my friends and my kids love it, so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravishing67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe was easy and turned out so YUMMY! Definitely will be making again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Recently making this cake and I used almond extract instead of vanilla and I also used half butter and half blue bonnet in the cake. I also used the milk and vinegar method instead of buttermilk because I was craving a good cake but didn't feel like leaving the house. As for the sauce, I used brown sugar instead and added cinnamon and I am so anxious to see how this turns out!! It's smelling good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliyah Ware

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States