Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is pretty close to a typical pound cake recipe except that it is much lighter, less dense than pound cakes. Its tenderness is between a pound cake and a birthday-type cake. I really like it. Made cake exactly as recipe calls, except used almond extract instead of vanilla. The cake was done in 45 minutes, much longer than the indicated 60 minutes, and I realized that I baked it at 350 instead of 325. Needless to say, it was more than golden brown so the cake was probably dryer than it should be, based on everyone's comments that it is so moist. So I'm going to try it again but bake it at the correct temp next time. The flavor of the cake is excellent. I worried about the butter sauce making the cake too sweet but added it anyway. The next day, the cake was perfectly sweet! The parts if the cake with butter sauce are a nice surprise to the rest of the cake. I don't think it would be a good idea to saturate too much of the cake with butter sauce because this contrast is nice. I didn't have any problems taking the cake out of the pan despite using a pan that is NOT nonstick. I sprayed it with Pam and made sure there were no puddles of oil. Then I floured it well. While the cake was cooling, I took a butter knife and worked it around the sides and middle of the pan to loosen the cake from the pan. With a bit of wobbling, the cake popped right out. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clipthywings
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake was an immediate hit! My husband ate half of it, followed the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Easy and very moist. Cake did not last a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ravishing67
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I have made it hundred times and all my friends and my kids love it, so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravishing67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe was easy and turned out so YUMMY! Definitely will be making again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Recently making this cake and I used almond extract instead of vanilla and I also used half butter and half blue bonnet in the cake. I also used the milk and vinegar method instead of buttermilk because I was craving a good cake but didn't feel like leaving the house. As for the sauce, I used brown sugar instead and added cinnamon and I am so anxious to see how this turns out!! It's smelling good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliyah Ware

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was really good. I do have to admit I made a minor change. First, I did like some others, I creamed the butter and sugar first before adding the other ingredients. And instead of vanilla in the batter, I used 1.5 tsp almond extract, but used the vanilla in the sauce. And I only made half the sauce, which was perfect. However, I think next time I will make the full recipe of sauce, and once I turn the cake over, will pour some on the other side. My sauce didn't soak thru, so only the "bottom" had the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just made this tonight and it's absolutely delicious! I would suggest creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the other wet ingredients and the dry ingredients last. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great easy recipe. I grated some fresh lemon zest and added it to my recipe with a lil nutmeg, talk about flavor. Using buttermilk is such a great addition great flavor love it. Wonderful cake to serve during ramadan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Great! This cake was wonderful! Went by the recipe as written. Have made three of these. Love it, love it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States