Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I received a new bundt cake pan for Christmas this year so I was searching for a new recipe to try. I picked this one based on previous reviews and made it for myself, it was amazing! This cake is very moist and the butter sauce was great soaked into it. I will definitely make this again, my boyfriend and kids just loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very tasty and yummy, but I would add less of the glaze next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was my first time making this, but I was confident enough from the reviews, that these are headed out for teacher's Christmas gifts. I'll be attaching the recipe with the cake. My Changes: I used individual bundt cake and cupcake forms, and baked approximately 30-35 minutes. I also used a combination of 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda for the sugar in the cake, and 1 cup of egg beaters for the 4 eggs. Next time I will substitute something healthier for half the butter. They turned out beautifully and yummy. You won't be disappointed. Who says you can't have your cake and eat it too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is a delicious, moist and not too sweet recipe. It paired nicely with a Moscato wine I had. I added cinnamon to the butter sauce as suggested by another reviewer and it was great. The cinnamon added a little depth to the recipe. I plan on doubling the butter sauce next time so the entire cake can absorb it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this cake for a family get together. First time I try a recipe, I follow instructions then the next time I will tweak if necessary. It was a very easy and quick recipe to put together. I liked the taste and texture but my husband did not. He prefers a dryer cake and I like the moist cakes. This is a very moist cake. I did do a double recipe of the glaze and used about 1 and 1/2 recipes to glaze the cake. I would do the cake again when I need a cake in a hurry since it is so easy. I would recommend it but would not say it was my favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe although I had to bake it an additional 8-10 minutes to get a clean toothpick. The glaze melted into the cake perfectly and made for a very moist, buttery flavored cake. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was a hit at our BBQ. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Yup!! This is THE best!!! My husband and daughter fell in love with this cake and it didn't last long at all!!! Served best while warm and I baked mine in an angelfood cake pan and it baked up beautifully!!!!!!! Cannot say enough of this recipe!!! VERY happy and have been told that I HAVE to make this once a month!! Yummy warm and fantastic for those snowy days!! This is going to be my Christmas dessert this year!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
VERY GOOD! Went together so easily and came out of the pan beautifully. (made sure to butter and flour bundt pan well) Everyone raved about this! So moist. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made exactly as stated except I creamed together the butter and sugar in the beginning. Then, I added the eggs and flavoring. Then, alternated the dry ingredients and buttermilk. Do not let the batter fool you. Mine looked like a pound cake batter. I do have a suggestion though...if you are making this for family or where presentation does not matter, I would bake this in a 9x13. The "goo" that you put in top will soak in better and not leave a huge mess. I baked mine in a bundt pan and I used a skewer to poke holes (and I poked ALOT of holes). I didn't think a skewer was large enough. Some have said they double the glaze recipe...I do not think that is necessary. This cake with the glaze is VERY sweet. I think it you doubled it, you wouldn't be able to eat it. Overall very good but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Paula Deen ain't got nothing on this buttah cake! So delicious and rich. I used Brandy extract in the butter sauce and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States