Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
simple and good tasting, but nothing special. The syrup was too much, I will probably cut it in half next time. It is difficult to uniformly distribute the syrup to all the cake, so some points may become more wet than other places, and actually I liked the parts with less or no syrup more. I used both knife (suggested by another reviewer) and toothpaste to create a lot of holes everywhere, but still didn't get the result that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1stLady
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this cake today and it is WONDERFUL. The smell alone is mouth watering. Instead of all purpose flour I used cake flour, put in 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract (got that from another viewer), and added a 1/3 cup more of white sugar. For the glaze a used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as requested from another viewer, (thanks for that tip!) This cake is so good and moist, also a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My original recipe yields the following changes: 2 tbls of vanilla and sour cream to replace the buttermilk. The sauce recipe reads : 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 cup butter, 1 tbls vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This cake is wonderful. It's moist and buttery. I think it would be very good at any time of day. I made it exactly as directed. I did not have any trouble getting it out of the pan. It had a lovely light brown crust. It was delicious! I would be proud to serve it to company for any occasion. Thanks, Ms. Stull. Your recipe is excellent. I also appreciate the comments of many other reviewers. Excellent suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was a faboulously moist cake. A crowd pleaser at my last Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent with sliced ripe peaches in summer - please try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Made this recipe as cupcakes. They came out absolutely perfect! I could not ask for a better recipe! I whipped the heck of it using my kitchenaid mixer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a fabulous cake. I've made it several times, and each time I was asked for the recipe. I use a chopstick to poke many holes before pouring in the butter sauce. Once word of advice - DON'T skip the butter sauce - it makes the cake. Without it, you will have an ordinary yellow cake that is actually a little on the dry side. I increase the sauce recipe to 1 1/2 times what the recipe calls for. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I received a new bundt cake pan for Christmas this year so I was searching for a new recipe to try. I picked this one based on previous reviews and made it for myself, it was amazing! This cake is very moist and the butter sauce was great soaked into it. I will definitely make this again, my boyfriend and kids just loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very tasty and yummy, but I would add less of the glaze next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States