Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Double sauce, use rum instead if water and let sit overnight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been making this cake for years. Always a huge hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I was looking for a late night snack as I was feeling slightly peckish. This is the best cake I have had in a long while. Unfortunately I did not have a couple of the ingredients available when I made it so I substituted the following: - Maple Syrup instead of Vanilla at "double quantity" (4 Teaspoons), - Skim Milk instead of Buttermilk (I do not care for Buttermilk), - 1 Cup of Brown and White Sugar instead of all White, - Did not use the "Butter Sauce" (Cake was moist enough without it), - Sprinkled some Brown Sugar on the Top (Mostly Aesthetic Detail), Fantastic choice, cake came out great was gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Everybody I know loves this cake. People have even offered to pay me to make it. In fact, the only thing people seem to want me to make is this cake even though I'm quite good at baking other things. I'm getting awfully tired of baking Kentucky Butter Cake and yet...I can't stop eating it. It's so buttery and moist and soft! I make it exactly as written and bake in a clay bundt pan, although mine usually takes about an hour and twenty minutes to bake. I left it in for an hour and a half this morning and the outside edges were pretty dark but didn't taste burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used 1 pint of heavy cream to make fresh butter and used it all in this cake. The vanilla was doubled and I cut back to 3 eggs. I did not make the sauce. Heavenly taste. Gone in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good cake and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this cake when it was first a Prize winner for Pilsbury. love from the start, if you chill overnight is bom... Took 3 or 4 to my son's Army graduation. It was gone in minutes. Luckly for my son I had kept one in the motel for him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loocievanpelt
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this cake (from a recipe on Big Oven that was exactly the same) and it is great. It has great color and a lot of butter flavor. I've made it five times in the last 3 weeks. The recipe from the other site suggests rum flavor or vanilla extract. I plan to try that for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This cake was incredible. I followed the directions exactly but I did poke the cake with a skewer and pour the butter sauce into the cake. I turned it onto a cake dish and frosted with a chocolate sauce made from sweetened condensed milk (1 can) and 3/4 cup cocoa. I was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States