Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This cake was delicious to say the least! So moist and buttery! I didn't even put all of the butter sauce inside, it might have been too sweet for my liking. Instead I drizzled a good amount on top and still had tons left. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
mine fell but it was still DELICIOUS and gone in a day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this cake and it's great. I did make a change however in the butter sauce, instead of water I used a good bourbon. It does not overpower the cake's flavor, it enhances it. This would be perfect for Derby Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's birthday one year and he LOVED it! Now I have to make it every year! I was trying to find a similar recipe to a berry cake we had at Bravo! one time, and this hit the spot! It is perfectly dense, moist and not too sweet. I buy a frozen berry mix, add a little sugar, warm it up in the microwave and serve it over this cake with vanilla ice cream - it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Awesome!!!! I loved how you said to poke hole in the cake to get the sauce inside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've made this cake 3 times in the past 3 weeks to rave reviews every time. Friends and family have asked for the recipe, and my husband says I should make one every week from now on. :O) The cake is moist, delicious, and very easy to make with only basic ingredients. Butter cake is wonderful because it has a perfect flavor on its own, but also will hold a variety of other flavor mix-ins or toppings (strawberries, cream, pecans, orange, etc., the sky is the limit). My favorite so far is to add fresh strawberries and whipped cream on top. When making this cake, I do use the traditional steps of first creaming butter and sugar together, then adding eggs, then alternately adding dry ingredients and buttermilk, and finishing with vanilla. I get perfect results and just can't bring myself to do it any other way. If you are looking for a tried-and-true perfect butter cake, just stop here and start making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Easy to make, turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Double sauce, use rum instead if water and let sit overnight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been making this cake for years. Always a huge hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States