Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This cake is absolutely fabulous. i made it tonight and my dad says its a keeper. mum said it was wicked and asked me to cut up some immediately for her to take to office in the morning. I followed the recipe to scratch but made 2 alterations. i cut the sugar down to just 1 cup/200g because i was afraid it would be too sweet. it turned out great, also i cut 50g of sugar out of the butter sauce. additionally i added 1.5 tablespoons of lemon juice to give it that extra zing. the cake is absolutely gorgeous and so easy to make. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeyanthi N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Thought this was a little bland. I will make again and add some flavoring to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
My family loved this. I did not I thought it was too sweet and just not special enough. My family (all 9 of them) totally disagrees and would be pleased if I made this again. I won't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is very good and it is the perfect cake to use for strawberry shortcake. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
We love this cake. It goes well with fruit or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was a good cake if you like a slight cornbread flavor. My husband has a real sweet tooth but this was not a winner for him. Two of my 4 kids liked it. The other 2 didn't like it due to the cornbread flavor. The parts drenched in butter were great but the rest was a little too much like cornbread for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
good and the sauce made the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
***** Absolutely wonderful and moist cake. Will make again. Very easy to make and from ingredients already in pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I added a little almond extract to both the cake and the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Took this cake to a party without even tasting it. It got great reviews!! I did double the sauce that goes on it and I did let it boil. Turned out wonderful. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States