Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Not as moist as most Butter Cake recipes. Easy to make, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is basically a poundcake with a buttery glaze. I used cake flour & it made my cake have a much lighter & finer crumb than if I had used all purpose. I also sifted all of my dry ingredients before putting them in the mixing bowl (but I didn't sift the sugrar). I think sifting really helps create a soft & fluffy texture. I think it could use a little bigger splash of vanilla or maybe even a vanilla bean but otherwise, this is a great and simple recipe. I DID follow the odd instructions that tell you to place all the dry ingredients in a bowl and THEN add the buttermilk, butter, eggs & vanilla. That is a really strange process for a cake but ya know, it worked well. I don't think it would have worked well if my butter had not been super soft so make sure your butter is very soft. I put my butter in the microwave on defrost. I made my cake in mini bundt pans. They turned out so cute and moist and make a perfect individual dessert. The glaze is buttery and delicious but I'm sure this cake would be great with a berry sauce on top. So for a really basic, easy, delicious pound cake - this is a great recipe to try. Make sure to keep your oven on the low temp suggested in the recipe - 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this cake for the first time and brought it to work. (I know... very risky, lol) Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe! Its my new favorite! It turned out so light and moist. Some bundt cakes are just too heavy and dense but not this one! I did do so a couple of things differently, however. Here they are: 1) It didn't specify but I was sure to use unsalted butter. 2) all I had left was cake and pastry so I used 3 cups of it instead of all purpose. This may have accounted for its wonderful texture. 3) I wanted a lemon poppy seed cake so I simply added 2 tablespoons of lemon zest, and 4 tablespoons of poppy seeds. 4) I totally omitted the butter sauce, It was not at all necessary. It was awesome with a cup of tea! Next time I might try using orange zest and see how that turns out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Excellent! Very moist. The directions were easy especially for a novice baker. Key point: make sure you blend the dry ingredients extremely well separate from the wet ingredients or you may have a few bitter bites in the cake. It also always room for adding extra things like chocolate chips or berries and it doesn't alter the batter All in all very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
GREAT! Really good, I made it exactly as the recipe called and it came out perfectly. This is delicious, moist, you'll love this if you like sweet cakes with more of a vanilla, plain flavor. This would be great with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Perfect, perfect recipe! We've been trying to find a moist and delicious cake recipe for ages! This one is a keeper! We halved the recipe (because we kept making horrible cakes and didn't want to waste any more ingredients) and put it in a square Pyrex pan to bake instead of a bunt pan. Watched it in the oven. Had to give it an extra few minutes I believe. It came out absolutely perfect!! My oldest wants it for his birthday cake already! And that's not until March! Next time I'm going to try it without the butter sauce and with a butter cream frosting instead and see how it goes. From the looks of it it'll be just as moist and as wonderful as the original. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent! As other reviewers said, this cake gets better after each day,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delish!!! Wonderful flavor and moist. No more box cakes for me. Only changes I made was I used 1 tablespoon vanilla and 1 tsp butter extract. This cake does tend to stick to the pan but using Baker's Joy the second time worked perfect. Cake fell right out of the pan. Will absolutely be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made this to take to a dinner party. WOW! This was a hit. Melt in your mouth, rich buttery flavor. The only downside to this cake is it disappears too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States