Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Yup!! This is THE best!!! My husband and daughter fell in love with this cake and it didn't last long at all!!! Served best while warm and I baked mine in an angelfood cake pan and it baked up beautifully!!!!!!! Cannot say enough of this recipe!!! VERY happy and have been told that I HAVE to make this once a month!! Yummy warm and fantastic for those snowy days!! This is going to be my Christmas dessert this year!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
VERY GOOD! Went together so easily and came out of the pan beautifully. (made sure to butter and flour bundt pan well) Everyone raved about this! So moist. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made exactly as stated except I creamed together the butter and sugar in the beginning. Then, I added the eggs and flavoring. Then, alternated the dry ingredients and buttermilk. Do not let the batter fool you. Mine looked like a pound cake batter. I do have a suggestion though...if you are making this for family or where presentation does not matter, I would bake this in a 9x13. The "goo" that you put in top will soak in better and not leave a huge mess. I baked mine in a bundt pan and I used a skewer to poke holes (and I poked ALOT of holes). I didn't think a skewer was large enough. Some have said they double the glaze recipe...I do not think that is necessary. This cake with the glaze is VERY sweet. I think it you doubled it, you wouldn't be able to eat it. Overall very good but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Paula Deen ain't got nothing on this buttah cake! So delicious and rich. I used Brandy extract in the butter sauce and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very rich cake, but so so good. I didn't have a bundt pan so I used a 9 by 13 cake pan and I was very pleased with the end results. I think I can cut back on that butter sauce a bit when I make this for my family (I did love it but I try to cut back on the butter where i can), but I will be taking the suggestion of other reviewers and trying it with rum extract. Thanks for this recipe, its a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I was very excited about this cake but concerned when my batter was thick almost like bread dough and was browning after 45 minutes bake time. I ended up making extra sauce since I couldn't tell if it was moist enough while still in pan. Made it Sat afternoon for a Sunday lunch and it just didn't turn out as I expected.... I will probably make my own changes to make this one better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I have been making this cake for several years now, and it's ALWAYS a hit. So moist, buttery and rich! I have my guests waiting by the oven door when I make this. We love it! My family has renamed it the "butt" cake, since it goes straight to your hips :-). Since they request it all the time, it must be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This Cake is the best! I have made it multiple times and it bakes perfectly everytime, even at altitude! I bake a lot but when ever I ask my boyfriend what he likes best he always says this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I added a tsp. almond extract and a tsp. lemon extract to the batter. I also baked it a dark non-stick bundt pan with Baker's Joy and it slid right out. Then, after it cooled I glazed it with equal parts powdered sugar and milk with another tsp. of almond extract and topped it all off with slivered almonds. So much better than the stuff at the grocery store bakeries! And it made my house smell divine. I will make this again and again. I might try adding poppy seeds and making them into over-sized muffins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karibdavis13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have had this recipe saved for a long while, but only just got around to trying it out, today. I have to say it was really good. Definitely something I'll be making again. I did substitute yogurt for the buttermilk, as I had no buttermilk. It worked just fine, and still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States