Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
We have a child in my home with an allergy to eggs, and not many "eggless" cakes work out as planned. Because of this, I tend to experiment with conventional recipes to see how they'll turn out without the eggs. Yesterday I made two of these cakes at once - one with eggs and one with Ener-G Egg Replacer. I added cinnamon, cardamom and nutmeg in the batter and the glaze for each cake. Both cakes turned out okay. I filled the bundt pan with the eggless version halfway, and it rose all the way to the top. The eggless cake was as moist as the eggy one. Without the added spices, I'm not certain if I would have enjoyed the flavor as much, as it seems like the majority of the flavor comes from the glaze. Still, I'm happy with how the cake behaved in the oven, and find it's a good basic recipe that can be easily adapted. In any case, I am very pleased to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This recipe is awesome just as it is. I baked exactly as stated and it was amazing. Just made it a second time and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the glaze and it became the most heavenly coffee cake imaginable. I imagine you could do the same with rum extract, orange, amarettio or many other flavored. What a Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Extremely moist & delicious. Everyone loves it. Buttermilk is a definite. More holes the better for butter sauce to immerse within the cake. Sprinkle with powder sugar just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Crowd pleaser!! I've made this recipe a half dozen times and no one has turned away disappointed. A friend had a 3rd helping last night!! Seems like it flavors through even a bit more on day 2 (if there's any left), so we make it a day ahead of when we're taking dessert somewhere. I make it in a 9x13 pan (vs. a round Bundt)... no problems. You will love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Dense,moist I used rum extract and it was really good.Didn't last long here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Wonderful! I've made this about 4 times since I found the recipe a couple of weeks ago. Haven't change a thing except to make a little extra sauce with it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
WOW!! What a great cake. It does remind me of a pound cake, but I love pound cake, and it doesn't state that it ISN'T a pound cake. So, whether it is or isn't, it is still delicious!! Followed directions exactly and had no problems with sticking in pan or with it rising. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I am not a baker and this turned out awesome. So moist and yummy. I used a straw to poke all of the holes in the cake but my sauce had cooled and thickened by the time I went to pour it on. The sauce didn't really soak in very far but I am sure next time if the sauce if hotter I will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was confused about the directions at first. When listing ingredients, you should list them vertically in the order that you use them. This recipe lists the ingredients horizontally, thus combining the sauce and cake recipes together. Paula Dean has a similar recipe that is fabulous. Her technique works well with this type of inverted cake. When the cake come out if the oven, use a fork to poke holes in the top. Pour sauce over the cake and let it sit for 30 min. Then invert the cake onto a cake plate. Don't shake the cake out of the pan. As it cools, it will loosen itself and fall onto the cake pan intact. Ends up perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by felicia
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I followed the recipe. It turned out ok. My grandchildren loved it! !! They also helped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States