Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Yummy! Easy to make. Reminds me of how my grandma used to make cakes from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I made this recipe according to the directions and it was terrible... Yes it was easy to make but it was like eating corn bread. I would not recommend making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Wonderful! Perfect with strawberries and whipped cream and others had it with just ice cream and some just plain. A hit with all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
One of the simplest most delicious recipes! I recommend it for any level of cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
We have a child in my home with an allergy to eggs, and not many "eggless" cakes work out as planned. Because of this, I tend to experiment with conventional recipes to see how they'll turn out without the eggs. Yesterday I made two of these cakes at once - one with eggs and one with Ener-G Egg Replacer. I added cinnamon, cardamom and nutmeg in the batter and the glaze for each cake. Both cakes turned out okay. I filled the bundt pan with the eggless version halfway, and it rose all the way to the top. The eggless cake was as moist as the eggy one. Without the added spices, I'm not certain if I would have enjoyed the flavor as much, as it seems like the majority of the flavor comes from the glaze. Still, I'm happy with how the cake behaved in the oven, and find it's a good basic recipe that can be easily adapted. In any case, I am very pleased to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This recipe is awesome just as it is. I baked exactly as stated and it was amazing. Just made it a second time and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the glaze and it became the most heavenly coffee cake imaginable. I imagine you could do the same with rum extract, orange, amarettio or many other flavored. What a Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Extremely moist & delicious. Everyone loves it. Buttermilk is a definite. More holes the better for butter sauce to immerse within the cake. Sprinkle with powder sugar just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Crowd pleaser!! I've made this recipe a half dozen times and no one has turned away disappointed. A friend had a 3rd helping last night!! Seems like it flavors through even a bit more on day 2 (if there's any left), so we make it a day ahead of when we're taking dessert somewhere. I make it in a 9x13 pan (vs. a round Bundt)... no problems. You will love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Dense,moist I used rum extract and it was really good.Didn't last long here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Wonderful! I've made this about 4 times since I found the recipe a couple of weeks ago. Haven't change a thing except to make a little extra sauce with it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 726) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States