Kentucky Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this cake for my husband's birthday one year and he LOVED it! Now I have to make it every year! I was trying to find a similar recipe to a berry cake we had at Bravo! one time, and this hit the spot! It is perfectly dense, moist and not too sweet. I buy a frozen berry mix, add a little sugar, warm it up in the microwave and serve it over this cake with vanilla ice cream - it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Awesome!!!! I loved how you said to poke hole in the cake to get the sauce inside it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've made this cake 3 times in the past 3 weeks to rave reviews every time. Friends and family have asked for the recipe, and my husband says I should make one every week from now on. :O) The cake is moist, delicious, and very easy to make with only basic ingredients. Butter cake is wonderful because it has a perfect flavor on its own, but also will hold a variety of other flavor mix-ins or toppings (strawberries, cream, pecans, orange, etc., the sky is the limit). My favorite so far is to add fresh strawberries and whipped cream on top. When making this cake, I do use the traditional steps of first creaming butter and sugar together, then adding eggs, then alternately adding dry ingredients and buttermilk, and finishing with vanilla. I get perfect results and just can't bring myself to do it any other way. If you are looking for a tried-and-true perfect butter cake, just stop here and start making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Easy to make, turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
1 1/2 times sauce and punch LOTS of holes and use rum instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been making this cake for years. Always a huge hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I was looking for a late night snack as I was feeling slightly peckish. This is the best cake I have had in a long while. Unfortunately I did not have a couple of the ingredients available when I made it so I substituted the following: - Maple Syrup instead of Vanilla at "double quantity" (4 Teaspoons), - Skim Milk instead of Buttermilk (I do not care for Buttermilk), - 1 Cup of Brown and White Sugar instead of all White, - Did not use the "Butter Sauce" (Cake was moist enough without it), - Sprinkled some Brown Sugar on the Top (Mostly Aesthetic Detail), Fantastic choice, cake came out great was gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Everybody I know loves this cake. People have even offered to pay me to make it. In fact, the only thing people seem to want me to make is this cake even though I'm quite good at baking other things. I'm getting awfully tired of baking Kentucky Butter Cake and yet...I can't stop eating it. It's so buttery and moist and soft! I make it exactly as written and bake in a clay bundt pan, although mine usually takes about an hour and twenty minutes to bake. I left it in for an hour and a half this morning and the outside edges were pretty dark but didn't taste burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used 1 pint of heavy cream to make fresh butter and used it all in this cake. The vanilla was doubled and I cut back to 3 eggs. I did not make the sauce. Heavenly taste. Gone in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States