Kentucky Burgoo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not Burgoo, more like a Brunswick Stew but still not quite. This stuff is made from all the leftovers on the buffet at the famous Moonlite BBQ, and its believed the name comes from sluring 'Bird Stew'... Wheres the bird?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great dish. Well worth the time & effort. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I used lamb and cut out the okra and corn (my husbnd does not like either), but it came out beautiful. The meat was so tender you could cut it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Street, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This got rave reviews in my house!! I used wild hog and chicken thighs. Used Rotel for tomatoes and V-8 for Tomato juice. I added bell pepper and 2 Tbsp red pepper puree and did not use any salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I am from Western Ky, but live in Eastern Ky now. This soup is only known in the Western area. I've never found anywhere else in the country that you can get it. Almost every large gathering in Western Ky features it and it is traditionally cooked in a cast iron kettle over an open fire. This recipe is slightly different than what I'm used to but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
As a resident of Kentucky I have to say that this tastes nothing like traditional burgoo.It's almost impossible to get the right taste in small batches of burgoo and it's also best to let burgoo slow cook for 1 to 2 days.No one ever said making good food was easy but it tastes a billion times better when done right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
As a native Kentuckian, I have never tasted anything close to this, especially with the barbeque sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I didn't follow this to a tee, but as a guide. Man is this good! I have a house full of picky eaters and this went over well with everybody. I find it's like a cross between chili, and pasta fagul, with a little bit of BBQ, and no heartburn. Will I make it again? Till the day I die!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States