Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried the recipe as written and it was good. The second time I personalized it a bit. I cut the potatoes in bite sized chunks- try to get them evenly sized so they cook evenly. I used 1/2 lightly packed brown sugar, and 1/2 white sugar. I added 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/4 t. nutmeg. Instead of the bourbon, I used 1/2 buttershots liquer and 1/2 dark rum. I lightly turned and basted the sweet potatoes every 15 minutes or so, and kept checking the doneness. Before serving(several hours later) I covered the top with 1 pkg. 10 oz. mini marshmallows, then broiled until lightly browned and puffy. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rumrunner
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this dish for the Thanksgiving potluck at my job and everyone loved it. I already have request for Christmas. Thank you so much for sharing your family recipe. I have a feeling this recipe will be in our family for years too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I've used this recipe for several years and it has always been a hit. I cook the sweet potatoes first, then arrange it in the pan. I then pour the "sauce" over the top and cover. I let it sit in the sauce at least overnight, so the sweet potatoes will soak it up. Cook as directed, and they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I could not get the sweet potatoes fully cooked or covered by juice. I would either cook the sweet potatoes first and then bake them, or use less potatoes so they'd be fully covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalanopa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have to agree totally with another reviwer that "the sauce was not absorbed and it did not get crusty and brown". I would not make this recipe again. Hardly anyone at the table even wanted any and most of them like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe for thanksgiving and I made a few minor changes. I was making it for two people and the sweet potatoes were large, so I used two of them. I made the bourbon sauce as directed, but it didn't seem like enough so I made a second batch of it. I layered pats of butter in between the potato slices and added a pinch of cinnomon and ginger. These were heavenly, so good, I would recommend the recipe highly. I gave it 5 stars. i also used brown sugar in the sauce, instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
These were wonderful. I used a slightly bigger pan. I lined the pan with reynolds non stick heavy duty foil(easy cleanup). After I poured the sauce over the top, I tightly put the same foil over the top. It all steamed nicely with more than enough sauce, and no need to stir. I did allow the sauce to come to a boil for about a min. to make sure it was all disolved. The bourbon is not too strong, but really does add to the flavor. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
To much butter and was just not my thing. I guess I prefer sweet potatoes with orange juice or marshmallows or pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
When this first came out of the oven, it smelled really strongly of raw bourbon. I was so disappointed! But it cooled to room temperature and was then reheated later for the family Christmas dinner, and after it mellowed it turned out very nicely. Everyone really liked it, especially the DH. I used all brown sugar for a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The sauce for these is awesome! After baking the potatoes I ended up taking a potato masher and turning them into mashed sweet potatoes. Just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States