Kentucky Bourbon Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very tasty and simple. What more can you ask! As good as any candied sweet potato dish and not as sweet. Use fresh sweet potatoes! I scaled it down for two people and it worked fine. Some people might want to double the sauce but I felt it was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
soooo good. these are great. i added a little orange juice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This is my favorite holiday recipe to share with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I just made this recipe for Thanksgiving and my guests loved it. I tried it with half white sugar and half brown sugar as another reviewer recommended. I did make sure that upon heating the sugar, bourbon, butter and vanilla on the stove that all ingredients were completely disolved to avoid a "sugary" texture.Although the butter and bourbon mixture was never completely absorbed by the sweet potatoes, the resulting dish was excellent.(I am at high altitude, and some foods react differently than they would at lower altitudes.)Thank-you for sharing this recipe, Mozelle! You helped make our Thanksgiving a delicious one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was terrific - not as sweet as I had feared. I used only half of the butter, (if that - I eyeballed it), and it was plenty rich enough. Make sure to use a good quality real vanilla extract, as the taste comes through nicely. These were tender and flavourful (especially when served with fresh ground black pepper) and a definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
Absolutly fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I love making this recipe for my husband and in-laws, who are Kentucky natives. It's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I loved this recipe for a twist on sweet potatoes at the holidays. It went over very well, but it made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
A delicious fast and easy recipe. We took ours to a christmas party and everyone loved it. We sliced our sweet potatoes and it tasted wonderful. Our child didn't like them because of the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This recipe was the hit of all our holidays last year. I was so glad to still find it so I can mail it to more friends this year. The men in our family especially liked it. I think it will be my contribution to a family tradition. E Hughes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHUGHES
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States