Kentucky Bourbon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Out of this world!!!! A must for the Christmas holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Being a bonified Kentucky Gal, Ky Bourbon Pecan Cake was a very anticipated treat of the Christmas season. Mom always made them...I say them because she made several to give as gifts...the weekend after Thanksgiving and they soaked in bourbon until served Christmas through New Years. It's not your regular fruitcake because it only has pecans, red candied cherries and raisins, not all that other yucky candied fruit that, in my opinion, gives fruitcake a bad rap. When made this way, it WILL change your mind on how delicious a GOOD fruitcake can be. Be generous in the soaking and use really good bourbon, not the cheapstuff because you WILL taste it. I'm making mine this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy Bee
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fruitcake~Gross, you say, until you taste this one. It is awesome! The outer cake is firm but not hard and the inner cake is moist and so delicious. Have won over many fruitcake scoffers with this recipe. I did add candied pineapple and cranberries and chopped the fruit so it wasn't huge hunks. Am ready to make more and convert more fruitcake haters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for years! We don't soak the cakes in additional bourbon though. The recipe was published as "Tom Buchanan's Whiskey Cake" -perhaps a reference to the character in the Great Gatsby? I never understood all the holiday fruit cake jokes because our family made this..then I learned it was more properly called a bourbon or whiskey cake!! My mother still gets requests every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious!! Everyone raved about it!! A must try!! I will be making this every holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a very moist fruit cake. A dear friend of my late mother gave mom this cake recipe. So that kids can enjoy the cake with the adults, use grape juice, cranberry juice for a dark fruit cake, or light grape juice or apple juice for a light fruit cake. Reduce the 1lb of chopped pecans to 1.5 -2 cups chopped pecans. use more candied fruit, (fruitcake mix,, pineapple, cherries) and soak it in 3 cups fruit juice instead of 2 cups juice. also reduce both sugars to 1.5 cups each====4 cups sugar makes the cake toooooo sweet. Also, if you don't have a 10inch cake pan (bunt is ttoooooo small for this cake) for this cake, use 2 10 inch bunt cake pans or 2-3 loaf cake pan. the 10 in tube cake pans are very hard to find unless you go to a specialty shop or mail order
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is nearly the same as one my mother made every year...more than 50 yrs ago. Her cake was virtually nuts, currants or raisins with batter to hold it all together. She used cheese cloth and stored the cake in a large pan. Every few days she'd sprinkle bourbon on the cake and onto a quartered apple that rested at the bottom of the cake in the center hole. after replacing the cheesecloth she sprinkled bourbon again over the whole thing and resealed the pan. It rested in the laundry room which wasn't heated. Please use a pan or kettle that can be securely closed up and the cake will be moist and delicious and yes, dense with nuts, raisins and good bourbon flavor. She always served the thin slices with a homemade hard sauce..it was great, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was a huge waste of money for me. I did everything right to the letter, bought an expensive bundt pan, and ended up with a tasteless, dry, fruitless brick that we threw out. Just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great cake and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This recipe is a very fond memory of my childhood growing up in Dallas. As a child, this cake was one of the things that got me excited about the holidays! My mom lost the recipe a few years ago & to my delight, I found it here. I highly recommend it!!! The cherries & raisons soaked in bourbon are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States