Kentucky Bourbon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is similar to one that has been in our family for years. This cake is fantastic and the recipe is very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This recipe is a very fond memory of my childhood growing up in Dallas. As a child, this cake was one of the things that got me excited about the holidays! My mom lost the recipe a few years ago & to my delight, I found it here. I highly recommend it!!! The cherries & raisons soaked in bourbon are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I have been making this fruitcake since the mid 1980's and it has never failed to get rave reviews. I have used mini loaf pans and given them as gifts. This is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great cake and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is nearly the same as one my mother made every year...more than 50 yrs ago. Her cake was virtually nuts, currants or raisins with batter to hold it all together. She used cheese cloth and stored the cake in a large pan. Every few days she'd sprinkle bourbon on the cake and onto a quartered apple that rested at the bottom of the cake in the center hole. after replacing the cheesecloth she sprinkled bourbon again over the whole thing and resealed the pan. It rested in the laundry room which wasn't heated. Please use a pan or kettle that can be securely closed up and the cake will be moist and delicious and yes, dense with nuts, raisins and good bourbon flavor. She always served the thin slices with a homemade hard sauce..it was great, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
OMG, this cake is awesome. It sort of makes my tongue tingle! I received rave reviews from co-workers and neighbors for this cake. Yes, I might add a few more cherries next time because the cake is so dense and can feed so many people that it can handle another dozen cherries. I must say that this is not a recipe for children due to the alcohol, but I still gave it a 5 star rating because it deserves it. Thank you so much, Holly, for sharing this recipe. It will be a part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious!! Everyone raved about it!! A must try!! I will be making this every holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a very moist fruit cake. A dear friend of my late mother gave mom this cake recipe. So that kids can enjoy the cake with the adults, use grape juice, cranberry juice for a dark fruit cake, or light grape juice or apple juice for a light fruit cake. Reduce the 1lb of chopped pecans to 1.5 -2 cups chopped pecans. use more candied fruit, (fruitcake mix,, pineapple, cherries) and soak it in 3 cups fruit juice instead of 2 cups juice. also reduce both sugars to 1.5 cups each====4 cups sugar makes the cake toooooo sweet. Also, if you don't have a 10inch cake pan (bunt is ttoooooo small for this cake) for this cake, use 2 10 inch bunt cake pans or 2-3 loaf cake pan. the 10 in tube cake pans are very hard to find unless you go to a specialty shop or mail order
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for years! We don't soak the cakes in additional bourbon though. The recipe was published as "Tom Buchanan's Whiskey Cake" -perhaps a reference to the character in the Great Gatsby? I never understood all the holiday fruit cake jokes because our family made this..then I learned it was more properly called a bourbon or whiskey cake!! My mother still gets requests every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy Bee
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Fruitcake~Gross, you say, until you taste this one. It is awesome! The outer cake is firm but not hard and the inner cake is moist and so delicious. Have won over many fruitcake scoffers with this recipe. I did add candied pineapple and cranberries and chopped the fruit so it wasn't huge hunks. Am ready to make more and convert more fruitcake haters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States