Kentucky Bourbon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
OMG, this cake is awesome. It sort of makes my tongue tingle! I received rave reviews from co-workers and neighbors for this cake. Yes, I might add a few more cherries next time because the cake is so dense and can feed so many people that it can handle another dozen cherries. I must say that this is not a recipe for children due to the alcohol, but I still gave it a 5 star rating because it deserves it. Thank you so much, Holly, for sharing this recipe. It will be a part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
The cake is real dense and moist. I recommend more cherries and dates in this recipe. The cake tastes wonderful and perhaps a nice chantilly cream would be excellent with it. It definately needs more fruit. The taste is wonderful and for a first time fruit cake this is a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I have been making this fruitcake since the mid 1980's and it has never failed to get rave reviews. I have used mini loaf pans and given them as gifts. This is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is nearly the same as one my mother made every year...more than 50 yrs ago. Her cake was virtually nuts, currants or raisins with batter to hold it all together. She used cheese cloth and stored the cake in a large pan. Every few days she'd sprinkle bourbon on the cake and onto a quartered apple that rested at the bottom of the cake in the center hole. after replacing the cheesecloth she sprinkled bourbon again over the whole thing and resealed the pan. It rested in the laundry room which wasn't heated. Please use a pan or kettle that can be securely closed up and the cake will be moist and delicious and yes, dense with nuts, raisins and good bourbon flavor. She always served the thin slices with a homemade hard sauce..it was great, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious!! Everyone raved about it!! A must try!! I will be making this every holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a very moist fruit cake. A dear friend of my late mother gave mom this cake recipe. So that kids can enjoy the cake with the adults, use grape juice, cranberry juice for a dark fruit cake, or light grape juice or apple juice for a light fruit cake. Reduce the 1lb of chopped pecans to 1.5 -2 cups chopped pecans. use more candied fruit, (fruitcake mix,, pineapple, cherries) and soak it in 3 cups fruit juice instead of 2 cups juice. also reduce both sugars to 1.5 cups each====4 cups sugar makes the cake toooooo sweet. Also, if you don't have a 10inch cake pan (bunt is ttoooooo small for this cake) for this cake, use 2 10 inch bunt cake pans or 2-3 loaf cake pan. the 10 in tube cake pans are very hard to find unless you go to a specialty shop or mail order
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This recipe is a very fond memory of my childhood growing up in Dallas. As a child, this cake was one of the things that got me excited about the holidays! My mom lost the recipe a few years ago & to my delight, I found it here. I highly recommend it!!! The cherries & raisons soaked in bourbon are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I made this cake for Christmas and my family really liked it. I thought it was good too but maybe had too many pecans. It was also a bit too large for one bundt pan, but I put a cookie sheet under it in case it spilled over in the oven. It didn't but almost did and that part got crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is similar to one that has been in our family for years. This cake is fantastic and the recipe is very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Being a bonified Kentucky Gal, Ky Bourbon Pecan Cake was a very anticipated treat of the Christmas season. Mom always made them...I say them because she made several to give as gifts...the weekend after Thanksgiving and they soaked in bourbon until served Christmas through New Years. It's not your regular fruitcake because it only has pecans, red candied cherries and raisins, not all that other yucky candied fruit that, in my opinion, gives fruitcake a bad rap. When made this way, it WILL change your mind on how delicious a GOOD fruitcake can be. Be generous in the soaking and use really good bourbon, not the cheapstuff because you WILL taste it. I'm making mine this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States