Kentucky Bourbon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
The cake is real dense and moist. I recommend more cherries and dates in this recipe. The cake tastes wonderful and perhaps a nice chantilly cream would be excellent with it. It definately needs more fruit. The taste is wonderful and for a first time fruit cake this is a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe is similar to one that has been in our family for years. This cake is fantastic and the recipe is very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
OMG, this cake is awesome. It sort of makes my tongue tingle! I received rave reviews from co-workers and neighbors for this cake. Yes, I might add a few more cherries next time because the cake is so dense and can feed so many people that it can handle another dozen cherries. I must say that this is not a recipe for children due to the alcohol, but I still gave it a 5 star rating because it deserves it. Thank you so much, Holly, for sharing this recipe. It will be a part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I have been making this fruitcake since the mid 1980's and it has never failed to get rave reviews. I have used mini loaf pans and given them as gifts. This is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I'm giving this 3 stars only because perhaps I did something wrong, but this just didn't work out well for me. I think it was overcooked, as the outside is VERY hard and can't really be eaten. It is miles short on fruit, although I did add extra. I can hardly taste the alcohol, if at all. The middle is not bad, but overall a major disappointment for all the work, expense, and waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I made this cake for Christmas and my family really liked it. I thought it was good too but maybe had too many pecans. It was also a bit too large for one bundt pan, but I put a cookie sheet under it in case it spilled over in the oven. It didn't but almost did and that part got crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This recipe is a very fond memory of my childhood growing up in Dallas. As a child, this cake was one of the things that got me excited about the holidays! My mom lost the recipe a few years ago & to my delight, I found it here. I highly recommend it!!! The cherries & raisons soaked in bourbon are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great cake and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was a huge waste of money for me. I did everything right to the letter, bought an expensive bundt pan, and ended up with a tasteless, dry, fruitless brick that we threw out. Just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is nearly the same as one my mother made every year...more than 50 yrs ago. Her cake was virtually nuts, currants or raisins with batter to hold it all together. She used cheese cloth and stored the cake in a large pan. Every few days she'd sprinkle bourbon on the cake and onto a quartered apple that rested at the bottom of the cake in the center hole. after replacing the cheesecloth she sprinkled bourbon again over the whole thing and resealed the pan. It rested in the laundry room which wasn't heated. Please use a pan or kettle that can be securely closed up and the cake will be moist and delicious and yes, dense with nuts, raisins and good bourbon flavor. She always served the thin slices with a homemade hard sauce..it was great, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States