Kentucky Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I love this recipe, but I cut back on the bourbon by one Tablespoon. I also added a tiny bit more butter and creamed it without working it too much. They were creamy melt in your mouth! Not dry at all. Yes, the longer they sit the stronger they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Armstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a good recipe if you know a little bit about what you're doing. You really don't need vanilla wafer crumbs & corn syrup. The only thing I'd try to improve on is to add just a tad more bourbon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Nowlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy B.
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I tripled the recipe (and needed to add another stick of butter to get the right consistency) and got about 120 big bourbon balls (bigger than what you buy in the stores). They taste just like the ones on the tour at Woodford Reserve. Also, this is how the bourbon balls should be...not the ones made with cookie crumbs with powdered sugar on top. Here in Lexington, KY, you can buy various brands and they all are chocolate covered. I finely chopped the pecans and let them soak in the bourbon for two nights. There was no need to drain. There was little excess bourbon. I chilled the sugar/pecan mix for a few hours before rolling into balls and then again before dipping in chocolate. I used a mix of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips and melted via a double boiler. I also added a TBSP of shortening for each bag of chips I used. This really helped the consistency of the chocolate. I used a spoon to roll the balls (toothpick method didn't work for me) and placed a pecan half on top and put them in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hopeitsapar2
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Super easy as a Kentuckian the are as close to what I grew up on as any I have had. will do again for Derby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My mother made these every year but put the bourbon straight into the sugar mixture. The whole family loved them and we continue to make them even though Mom is long gone. Be aware however, there is no cooking so the alcohol DOES NOT get burned off and they are potent little boogers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Wish I had read through all the reviews to pick up on how much tweaking this needs!! Actually to point of not using original recipe at all. Huge waste of countdown time, ingredients, money, etc.!! Even have injected extra bourbon and cannot taste it per too sweet and gooey. I am an excellent baker but found no way to salvage these. So, so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This came out well. I followed lots of the tips from the other reviewers. I soaked pecans in Devil's Cut bourbon for 1 week. Despite soaking for so long, the bourbon flavor is not overly strong, which is fine by me. I drained the remaining bourbon off the nuts and then chopped them in a food processor and set aside. I then mixed the butter and sugar in the food processor initially. It was dry so then mixed by hand in a bowl, where it finally came together into a dough-like consistency. Added the nuts and some vanilla (not in the recipe but made a good addition). Formed into balls (my mixture made way, way more than 24 balls, closer to 48). Put toothpicks in each ball and then put in the freezer for 1 hour. Dipped in melted chocolate to which I added 1 T of shortening to help the chocolate set. Fairly easy to remove the toothpicks after dipping and pretty easy to cover the hole left by the pick. I now have them stored in the fridge. I have made these ahead of time for a party I am having in 1 week. The trick will be not to eat them all before my guests come. Nice recipe. I'm pretty sure they will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have used this recipe for years but have used dark rum. My family, especially the males, are seriously disappointed if I don't make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have used this recipe for over 40 years and they are always perfect. I use dipping chocolate because using paraffin is not supposed to be consumed (read the warning on the box). I purchase my dipping chocolate at a cake/candy store or you can purchase on-line. Wilton makes dipping "melts" in milk chocolate, white chocolate, semi-sweet and dark chocolate and is available at Wal-Mart. I chop my pecans very fine, cover with bourbon and do not put a nut on the top. Good quality bourbon, butter and powdered sugar insure a good product. My dipping chocolate is melted at half power in the microwave (stirring often because it will scorch) since even one drop of water ruins your chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I make these all the time. Use chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup (Evan Williams) bourbon and soak in a (very clean, old spaghetti jar) for at least 3 days-I do a week, but I love the bourbon flavor. Throw out jar and drain nuts from excess moisture on paper towels. Use 2 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar (more or less) just until you get a soft dough.You want whopper candy-sized balls or smaller -just enough so you can pop in your mouth-you don't want to bite it. Freeze at least 30 mins. Work in batches! 2 cups of dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 tbsp shortening melted for coating. Use toothpick to pierce center, dip quickly and at a slight angle and place. Have a slotted spoon ready-you will drop a few. Cover hole after a batch with more chocolate using toothpick and make fancy point on top. Don't stick a whole nut on top. After they are firm, keep in a plastic container w/lid in fridge for snacking up to a month. **It is excellent with dark chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Schumacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States