Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just made these biscuits and I am very pleased. I added more salt and added a bit more flour when i began kneading because my dough was more of a batter/dough. I also added butter to the top of my biscuits after taking them out of the oven just to soften the top a bit. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is hands down the best recipe that I've ever tried. I've made it twice in the last 2 days and now my family wants them all the time. They are so good that word has spread all the way to Florida where my aunt lives and they can't wait for thanksgiving to try them. I have to keep a frsh quart of buttermilk in my fridge at all times. Thanms for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thakid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
So easy and so good. I added a little more salt, but otherwise followed the recipe. They rose nicely, were lightly crispy on the bottom and edges, and were pillowy soft on the inside. Really great with homemade blackberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I like this recipe exactly as it is written. Flavorful and flaky with good texture. Equally good rolled or dropped. I sometimes add 1/2 cup shredded cheddar, 1/8 tsp garlic powder and 1/8 tsp italian seasoning to the flour/butter mixture before adding the buttermilk. I have substituted plain milk when I was out of buttermilk and the taste was okay, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Made these last night and they were great. I didn't knead for 2 minutes, but only a few seconds to make a dough. These were light and fluffy and I litterally had layers!! Never had that before with a biscuit recipe. I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This recipe is really good. The only thing I changed was to make sure the butter is cut in chunks and lightly mixed in, and instead of kneading the dough for 2 minutes (which makes the biscuits dense and tough) loosely pack them together individually into the biscuit shape and cook. They come out flaky and yummy (with the easiness of Kentucky biscuits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Wonderful! Light, super fluffy, tender. Exactly what I was looking for. Had to use a bit more buttermilk than recipe called for to get it to set up and combine. Also used frozen butter that I grated with box grater, then used pastry blender just a bit. Was a small pain but worth it. Patted it into a rectangle on my floured granite, folded into thirds a few times and reformed. Cut into 12 squares with a pastry cutter and baked all touching. So good with Amish butter and honey!!! Next time I'll add a touch more salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe is very forgiving. Ok... so I tried to follow the directions, but made one big mistake. I didn't have any buttermilk so made some with one cup milk and tablespoon fresh lemon juice. I made these biscuits for breakfast during the week for my family. As most Mom's know...things are way busy in the weekday. Lunches, diapers, hair needing combed on and on. Well after a major distraction, I came back to whip up the biscuits and poured the entire cup of buttermilk into the mix. When I was trying to get the mix on to the counter it hit me. Wow! This stuff sure is wet. After a few *#@! realizing I had added too much milk I just pressed on and put them in the oven. They didn't turn out like I am sure they are suppose to, but everyone raved! Thanks for a great recipe! Maybe I can get it right next time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
These are utterly fantastic. Any time my husband makes happy yummy sounds and asks when I can make more of something, I know the recipe is good. I still need to figure out the best way of shaping and cutting the dough, and I'd put in 1/2 a tsp of salt instead of a dash. Otherwise, these are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
These were classic biscuits. They rose high and the texture was perfect. The flavor was excellent, I think due to the addition of sugar. I will admit that I ventured from the suggested method of leaving the dough together scored in the pan. The dough had such a beautiful elasticity that I couldn't help resist using a biscuit cutter to separate. This is my new go-to recipe when making homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States