Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
These turned out great, very fluffy and moist on the inside. However, instead of greasing a cookie sheet, I put parchment paper down.......BAD IDEA!! Burnt the bottom of them and smoked my house up! The paper was black, I've used the paper before with cookies and this never happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made these for a dinner party last month, everyone seemed to really like them, much like drop biscuits. They were pretty easy to make, but I did have to add quite a bit of flour when kneading them so they would come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Not as easy to do as I thought. Also unable to cut easily and put jelly in the middle. Ended up with biscuit pieces mixed with butter and jelly. It did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and tasty!! Made my own buttermilk with 3/4 cup of milk with 1 TBLS of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great recipe. My kids won't eat any other kind now. I have made them at least 50 times in the last 3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is the first biscuit I have ever made from scratch and it was amazing. I made them as is except I rolled them out and used a glass to cut out the biscuits. I have made them 4 more times and they are always wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Yum, Yum, Yum! Made these for dinner, and the dough was soooo soft- like a baby's bottom. I kneaded the dough several times, and instead of making them square, I rolled out the dough and cut with round cutter. After baking, the tops were brushed with melted butter. So soft, so yummy, so darn delicious! Next time I makes these, I will use all butter rather than a butter-Crisco combination and 1/8 tsp salt. I too had to make the buttermilk (vinegar mixed with whole milk). This recipe is a KEEPER! No more box biscuit mixes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Morris
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Turned out great! The only change I made was cutting them in a round shape before I baked them. I also let it set for about 10 minutes before I baked them. It lets the baking powder activate more and therefore more rising,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent ! I am from Kentucky, and I make these all the time and have even used regular milk in a pinch! (Not as good as buttermilk but it gets the job done). These are just like my Mother's and Grandmothers and what I grew up with. Some reviewers have mentioned that the middle does not get done, which is probably true if you are following the recipe exactly. I cut them like the recipe says but slightly pull them apart so there is a small space between each of them or if I have time I use my round cookie cutter and cut them out instead. Leaving them clumped together will cause the outer biscuits to get hard and the inner biscuits to still not be done. These are perfect for good old fashioned sausage or bacon gravy which my whole family devours when I make it for Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour and used 4 Tbsp. butter and 4 Tbsp Greek yogurt (instead of 8 Tbsp.of butter for a healthier biscuit. I mixed yogurt in buttermilk) Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States