Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
An excellent base recipe for plain biscuits. If you're looking for something cheesy, spicy, or otherwise flavored, you'll have to either use a different recipe or modify this one. (I'm on a crusade to get people to critique a recipe according to its intended purpose!) I made a couple procedural changes that may help with the final product. First, I always find it helpful to sift the dry ingredients three times in order to fully incorporate them, especially the baking powder (one reason some folks may have trouble with "tasting" the baking powder). Secondly, I did take issue with the two minute kneading. Far too long for biscuits... you'll activate the gluten and wind up with a more bread-like texture. The biscuit standard is twelve turns, but you develop a feel for when the dough is holding together, sometimes you'll need a couple more or less. Finally, I roll my dough out into a rectangle and cut it into squares with a knife. This saves time, and eliminates the need to re-roll scraps--which will always be less tender than the first rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Wow, this was very good. I never make biscuits because they always seem so dry, not these! One thing I did do was freeze the stick of butter and then grate with a box grater (I saw this on a cooking show). That way the butter stays nice and cold for a nice tender biscuit. Plus it mixes much easier with the dry ingredients. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pammy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
The best biscuits!!! I used half whole wheat flour and added 1/4 tsp salt. Let the cut biscuits sit for 10-15 minutes before baking and they will be VERY tall and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
September 2008: Perfect! I've made these biscuits w/o making any changes to the recipe. The only change I have made is that I grate the cold butter. I do that for all of my bread/crust recipes because, this way, it is a lot less time consuming to get the right texture. These taste similar to the Pillsbury packaged "Country biscuits" but much, much better for you! We eat these about once a week at my house. ------------------------- Update: (December 2008) Because I make these so often I always keep buttermilk in the fridge, but this time I was out *Gasp*. I substituted homemade using vinegar as suggested by some reviewers... ew. This batch of "homemade buttermilk" biscuits were so gross. To get the 5 star flavor its imperative that you use real buttermilk!! No substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've made this recipe several times now, so it's about time I review it. I always follow the recipe exactly and have never been disappointed with the results. I used to use a buttermilk drop biscuit recipe because I hate rolling out the dough and cutting out biscuits, and they always end up tougher in texture than I want. Whoever invented this method of baking buttermilk biscuits is a genius. Pure and simple genius. Minimal kneading (I usually don't do it as long as the recipe states--just until it's all mixed together), pat it into a square, cut the squares and pop it in the oven. They come out tender, flaky, moist, and delicious. Plus, it is SO easy to mix them up and bake them off just before your meal is done--it takes almost no time or effort whatsoever. The best tasting biscuits I have ever had and the easiest, most ingenious recipe I've come across in quite some time. Try these! They are fabulous. So, thank you for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahensnest
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Okay, I LOVE biscuits and am always trying new recipes. I think these are the best ones I've ever tasted! They have a thin crispy shell on the top and bottom , are moist and golden inside and have the perfect texture. I didn't have buttermilk so substituted 1TB vinegar then filled measuring cup to the 3/4 line. I also accidentally added 1/2tsp salt instead of a dash. My search for the perfect biscuit is over! I can't wait to eat the 2 I stashed away with jam in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
OMG THESE SERIOUSLY TASTE JUST LIKE KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN'S BISCUITS! MY FAMILY LOVED THEM, I ALSO FOUND TO BAKE AT A LOWER HEAT FOR LONGER HELPS COOK EVENLY. -TRY IT OUT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Aside from adding a half teaspoon of salt I prepared these just as the recipe directs, being careful not to overwork the dough. I don't make biscuits often, so I doubt it's my biscuit expertise that produced these soft, tender, light as a feather biscuits. I'm sure the buttermilk has a lot to do with it but obviously so does this recipe. I love biscuits, Hubs could take 'em or leave 'em - but this recipe changed his mind. I think he decided that after he polished off the second one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe has rescued me from the biscuit hell I have known my whole life. Finally delicious success! I used a small food processor to mix the dry ingredients and processed the cut cold butter in. I used soy milk with a little vinegar for homemade buttermilk. I kneaded them and rolled them out and cut them as directed. Next time maybe some brushed butter on the tops. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Ok Here goes my tips. First of all, this is an excellent recipe. This is the recipe I will use from now on. Tips 1. Sift the dry ingredients together. 2. Put butter in freezer to harden then grate onto the dry ingredients (from another poster) 3. Use more than 3/4 cup buttermilk. I use at least 1 cup because it helps the ingredients incorporate better and is easier to knead when its not so dry. 4. After kneading I roll into a rectangle and cut with a pizza cutter into about 12 square biscuits. 5. Please cut squares on pan right next to each other and let rest for at least 15 minutes 6. I bake on a insulated cookie sheet at 375 with the dough squares right next to one another. ***Update***** You can actually freeze these biscuits. I make a double batch. Roll them out, cut them into squares and lay cut dough on a cookie sheet and place in the freezer for about 30 minutes. Then transfer the semi hardened biscuits in freezer bags and just bake them on an as need basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States