Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Didn't have regular milk, just almond milk so I soured some with a little apple cider vinegar (for about 1 hour). Don't really taste any difference (between buttermilk and almond milk), seems a little bland not quite buttery enough. I used unsalted butter but did not include more salt to make up for it. I think that might help the flavor a little bit. This batch will definitely require something accompanying them (strawberry jam and honey tasted great) to make up for the bland flavor. the outside is the perfect crumbly crunch for a biscuit (and is actually pretty tasty) but the inside lacks in flavor. They fluffed up a little bit, not much so don't spread too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
A big key to consistent cooking time for these biscuits is in the kind of pan you use. A dark, cast iron pan is going to bake these up very quickly---whereas a stainless steel jelly roll or clear, glass casserole will bake more slowly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Finally! I can make a biscuit! I've tried many other recipes, but so far this is the only one that worked for me. Super fluffy, great flavor. The trick is cold butter (not shortening), buttermilk, and don't overwork the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I subbed non-fat Greek yogurt and a splash of skim milk for buttermilk and they turned out great. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
So yummy! My 9 yr old just made them with room temp butter and no kneading. Just plopped blobs on a cookie sheet and they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great basic biscuit recipe. Very flakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe was quick, easy and turned out 13 absolutely deliciious biscuits. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very easy recipe. I've tried to make biscuits before and they turned out too dense, but this recipe was very easy to follow. The men in my family loved these biscuits. They are plain, but would probably be great with honey or with cheese added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCracken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Simple, easy to make, and delicious. I let them bake until they were a little crispy, but the inside was light, which pleased my husband and me. Definitely will be making these biscuits often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I use this recipe to make biscuits for strawberry shortcake as well as regular breakfast biscuits. One helpful suggestion from another reviewer was to freeze the butter and grate it in. This was such a helpful tip and worked well. If I am in a pinch and do not have time to freeze the butter I just grate directly into the mixing bowl the minute I take it out of the fridge and it works just as good. Also, even though the recipe calls for buttermilk I prefer making a buttermilk substitute. I just add one tablespoon of vinegar to one cup of milk and let it sit for five minutes and use whatever amount is needed. This is helpful if you don't use buttermilk on a regular basis. To be honest, I prefer the substitute and think the biscuits taste better. I also melt butter and brush it onto the biscuits before I put it in the oven and while they are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States