Kentucky Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Not as easy to do as I thought. Also unable to cut easily and put jelly in the middle. Ended up with biscuit pieces mixed with butter and jelly. It did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Easy and tasty!! Made my own buttermilk with 3/4 cup of milk with 1 TBLS of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great recipe. My kids won't eat any other kind now. I have made them at least 50 times in the last 3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is the first biscuit I have ever made from scratch and it was amazing. I made them as is except I rolled them out and used a glass to cut out the biscuits. I have made them 4 more times and they are always wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Yum, Yum, Yum! Made these for dinner, and the dough was soooo soft- like a baby's bottom. I kneaded the dough several times, and instead of making them square, I rolled out the dough and cut with round cutter. After baking, the tops were brushed with melted butter. So soft, so yummy, so darn delicious! Next time I makes these, I will use all butter rather than a butter-Crisco combination and 1/8 tsp salt. I too had to make the buttermilk (vinegar mixed with whole milk). This recipe is a KEEPER! No more box biscuit mixes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Morris
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Turned out great! The only change I made was cutting them in a round shape before I baked them. I also let it set for about 10 minutes before I baked them. It lets the baking powder activate more and therefore more rising,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent ! I am from Kentucky, and I make these all the time and have even used regular milk in a pinch! (Not as good as buttermilk but it gets the job done). These are just like my Mother's and Grandmothers and what I grew up with. These are perfect for good old fashioned sausage or bacon gravy which my whole family devours when I make it for Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour and used 4 Tbsp. butter and 4 Tbsp Greek yogurt (instead of 8 Tbsp.of butter for a healthier biscuit. I mixed yogurt in buttermilk) Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I found these biscuits to be easy and delicious. I used frozen butter and shaved it fairly thin with a knife. It incorporated well with the flour without stickiness. When rolling out the biscuits, I will try to leave more height around the edges, as the center seemed to rise up more and created outter edges that cooked quicker than the center. Recipe made enough for dinner and breakfast the next morning. They were fluffy and soft reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
did not have buttermilk so I had to improvise and do vinegar and milk substitute.was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States