Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time to take to a Kentucky Derby party. It turned out wonderfully delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for using sharp cheddar instead of extra sharp. Also, I used Bell's Oberon Ale which worked well. For a more malty complex flavor, you could use a darker beer and it would still turn out great. I served this dip with crackers and pita bread, although, it would be wonderful with soft pretzels too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I didn't like this at all. Too mustardy. I won't be making this again, it's just not the flavoring I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We didn't care for this. Appearance, texture, and taste were unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have a recipe very similar to this but with caraway seeds and no hot sauce or garlic. I like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I suggested this recipe to a friend on thebuzz, today. I don't usually make recipe suggestions that I haven't tried. The longer I thought about this today, I just knew I had to make it, as I knew the men in my family would love. Well, I was correct. It says: "Spread tastes best when refrigerated overnight to blend flavors, but it can be served right away if needed." Well, it wasn't needed right away, but that didn't stop my DH from chowing down with a few pretzels. I took a bowl out to my dad and he liked it also. I told them both to wait until tomorrow or Sunday (Super Bowl) and it would taste even better. I'm taking a larger bowl down to my son in Tennessee to enjoy, and I have no doubt he will like it, also. I used a Yuengling® Amber Beer for the flavoring. Can't wait to give this cheese dip a try on Sunday! (Super Bowl XLIX (49) New England Patriots vs. Seattle Seahawks)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was amazingly fabulous! I don't drink beer but I needed to bring something to a potluck for work and had all the ingredients in the house. Hands down favorite of the potluck, everyone raved about it and scraped the serving bowl clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great recipe!!! Have used different types of beers and cheeses. My favorite is using the habanero sculpin beer and a fresh jalape├▒o from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I did not have high hopes for this dip - it just didn't seem like the ingredients listed would magically blend up into something with a dip consistency. Was I ever wrong! The flavor is amazing, the assembly couldn't be easier, and the heat is just right. I used an IPA for the beer and the flavor really shined. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this for Christmas Eve. Liked by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States