Ken's Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This chili was excellent. I made only a few minor modifications. When cooking hamburger I added 1 large to medium white onion and 1 Jalapeno pepper. Then after it had been simmering for 30 min I added 1 6oz can of Tomato Paste, and simmered for another 30 min to thicken. The chili was a huge success, made it for a football party and it didn't even last until halftime. Bon Appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This chili was GREAT!! I only used 1 lbs. of ground beef because i was making it for me my husband and my 2 yr. old so i didnt need alot i didnt have enough beef broth so i just added about 3/8 can of water (10.5 ounce can) We had some instant rice so we warmed that up and put it in the bottom of our bowl then put the chili over it. I will def. do this again no changes need to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for 3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I've made many different types of chili before and this is the first one that I've been able to get my kids to eat. However, I decreased the amount of chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
We loved it, what I changed or did differently? I used 2lbs of venison chili meat and 1lb of beef chili meat. I also added one large chopped onion which was placed in the pan when the meat was browned. I added a half of clove which was chopped finely and one 4oz can of diced chili peppers. Awesome....its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Great chili and fun to cook. I added some beans (oh no!) because I like them. I will cook this again, probably for a Super Bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My family and I love this recipe. I use the original, plus some of the suggestions in the reviews. I also cook it in the crock pot instead of on the stove. It is such a great cold weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
i took some of the advice in the other comments. it was a huge hit. i added not only sweet onion to the meat while browning it, i also added tomato paste then as well as green and red peppers (diced). then once it had cooked for 30 minutes, i added 1/4 cup on japapeno juice and cooked for 20 more minutes. topped with a jalepeno cheese blend and sour cream. very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne Jenkins
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
AWESOME! We used kidney beans, black-eyed peas, and navy beans. We also added tomato paste. We put Frito corn ships in bottom of bowls, then put chili and cheese on top for a Texas Frito pie! Loved the recipe and we used to live in Texas! We like it spicy but some may wish to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this recipe as directed. I really liked the flavor of this chili and I will be using this chili recipe to put on top of my fry bread for Indian Tacos. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I initially made this exactly as per the recipe except that I drained the ground beef completely and added a small can of undrained green chiles along with the pinto beans. This was a very tasty meal served over crushed tortilla chips and with a lettuce salad. When I reheated the leftovers I added a small can of V8 juice (5.5 oz) along with more flour and chili powder and simmered until thick. Served over Brazilian White Rice (recipe from this site) it was a second tasty meal with fried cinnamon apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States