Ken's Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I have lived in Texas all of my 44 years & don't know how you can make chili without real onions, garlic or without any kind of tomato base. We used tomato sauce in place of 1 can of beef broth. Chopped up a large onion & cooked with ground beef. Used only 1 can of jalapeno pintos & 1 can of regular. Cooked it way longer than the 30 minutes. End result was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This chili was excellent. I made only a few minor modifications. When cooking hamburger I added 1 large to medium white onion and 1 Jalapeno pepper. Then after it had been simmering for 30 min I added 1 6oz can of Tomato Paste, and simmered for another 30 min to thicken. The chili was a huge success, made it for a football party and it didn't even last until halftime. Bon Appetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
i took some of the advice in the other comments. it was a huge hit. i added not only sweet onion to the meat while browning it, i also added tomato paste then as well as green and red peppers (diced). then once it had cooked for 30 minutes, i added 1/4 cup on japapeno juice and cooked for 20 more minutes. topped with a jalepeno cheese blend and sour cream. very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I always thought that texas chili was made w/ beef that had been cubed...not ground beef, also don't seem to recall beans in texas chili. It was a good chili...but not a texas chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I've made many different types of chili before and this is the first one that I've been able to get my kids to eat. However, I decreased the amount of chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This chili was GREAT!! I only used 1 lbs. of ground beef because i was making it for me my husband and my 2 yr. old so i didnt need alot i didnt have enough beef broth so i just added about 3/8 can of water (10.5 ounce can) We had some instant rice so we warmed that up and put it in the bottom of our bowl then put the chili over it. I will def. do this again no changes need to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for 3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this recipe as directed. I really liked the flavor of this chili and I will be using this chili recipe to put on top of my fry bread for Indian Tacos. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I initially made this exactly as per the recipe except that I drained the ground beef completely and added a small can of undrained green chiles along with the pinto beans. This was a very tasty meal served over crushed tortilla chips and with a lettuce salad. When I reheated the leftovers I added a small can of V8 juice (5.5 oz) along with more flour and chili powder and simmered until thick. Served over Brazilian White Rice (recipe from this site) it was a second tasty meal with fried cinnamon apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
YUM! This was delicious - it was very thick though. Next time I will use more broth or less beans so it is more soupy. Also, I am going to put a few drops of hot sauce while it simmers to kick up the heat. I like my chili to be spicy! I served this with fritos, sour cream, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was okay for homemade chili especially if you need a recipe that is onion, pepper, and tomato free. Way too many beans though. I was really heavy handed in measuring my spices. This was a mild chili and we would eat it again, but it didn't make our favorites list. I didn't have pintos so I used dark kidney beans. For my personal tastes this could have used double the spices. Thanks Ken, your chili was good. We had no leftovers. The Hungry Teen had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States