Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Have been doing eggs for more years than I care to remember but tried this and it's FANTASTIC!!! Will never do it differently again. Did 3 batches for Easter and not one piece of shell or sticking. Thanks so much. (They say you can't teach an old dog a new trick but not so)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Guess it's just me, but I could not peel these eggs without destroying the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have just tried this recipe and it did not work for me! Imagine my surprise this morning when I went to dye my Easter eggs after cooking them using this method yesterday and realized that the eggs were only SOFT BOILED AND RUNNY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djp332

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Vue, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
AMEN, AT LAST, NO MORE POCKED EGG WHITES. YES, DEFINITELY BRING EGGS TO ROOM TEMP. LJF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeninga75
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have found the perfect hard boiled egg. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninga75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I did this recipe with 36 eggs. I must have done something wrong because these were the worst eggs I have ever cracked in my life! I couldn't even use half of them they stuck so bad. I quadrupled everything on the recipe thinking it would work...but I guess not. Ugh! Have to go boil more eggs now...using a different recipe! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The eggs were not cooked enough. I had to reboil them. I would add at least 5 minutes to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Don't see the reason for vinegar or salt. I put my eggs in water, bring to a boil, turn the heat off as soon as it comes to a boil, wait 12 min, and then put them in ice water. Just don't crowd the pot. and they won't crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I have farm fresh eggs that are notoriously tough to peel when hard boiled. Have tried ice baths immediately after boiling and soaked until cold, but still no joy with peeling. Store bought eggs were the only remedy to this dilemma because they are less fresh and somehow makes a difference separating membrane from eggs. Until this recipe! Boiled my day old farm fresh eggs using vinegar in the water and presto - they peel like a banana! No more store boughts. Yippi! I suggest using a slotted spoon to lower eggs into boiling water to prevent cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Perfect. I used fresh. large. room temperature eggs, apple cider vinegar (turned the eggs a little tan) and iodized sea salt. I used a pasta spoon with slots because I'm a klutz. No cracked eggs when added to boiling water. Used a low boil - on my electric stove between med-lo and medium for 14 min. Yolks were perfect yellow - just cooked. Any larger egg would have been under done. Whites were tender. The best part - when I cracked it all over and ran it under water the peel just slipped off. I almost cried. I really didn't expect this to work. Happy Easter!!!! We're grateful for your insomnia, Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States