Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe does actually produce "Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs"! My husband loves hard boiled eggs and quite frankly so do I and nothing is more frustrating than something so simple turning out improper or down right ugly when doing deviled eggs or wanting something pretty to garnish a nice salad. I let the eggs come to room temp. to reduce cracking. When adding the eggs to the water I use a slotted spoon and gently place them into the pot this also helps to remove them. These were very easy to peel and the yolk has a nice rich yellow color. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Salt just increases the boiling point of the water, it doesn't actually do anything to make the eggs easier to peel. Vinegar is not necessary, the real trick here is submerging the eggs in the ice water after removing them from the boiling water. I do the exact same thing with just plain water, and they are perfect! Save your vinegar, the ice is the magic ingredient here ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Brilliant, Ken! I've always used salt (supposed to prevent the contents leaking out) but the vinegar is news, and it works! 14 minutes is a bit long, I think; 10 minutes total boiling time will produce a less rubbery white and a creamy yolk, if you plunge the eggs into cold water immediately. Also crack the shells immediately after putting the eggs in cold water. This will allow the gas to escape which turns the yolk blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Thanks for all of those that have posted comments to my receipe. I heard alot of discussion about eggs cracking when you put them into the boiling water. So, I did what every husband would do..ask the wife! Her trick as indicated in some of the reviews, is to allow them to become room tempeture before going into the water. Seems to work perfect everytime. Once again, thanks to all that have posted and have a Happy Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wow! I've been cooking for over 50 years and finally today I made perfect boiled eggs for deviling. Have tried everything anybody told me from poking holes in the ends with a needle/fingers to vinegar in the water to standing on my head. This recipe really works. My eggs were extra large so I boiled them the full 15 minutes but a couple extra minutes would have been better. I would have had soft-boiled if I had taken the advise of one reviewer and only boiled for 10 minutes. Like most of the other reviewers I recommend following the recipe exactly. Thanks Ken...wish I had discovered this recipe years ago. Who knew you would need a recipe for boiled eggs...ha ha!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
You do not need vinegar or salt. The secret to making hard boiled eggs that do not stick to the shell is to use older eggs! Ideally, eggs that are 10 days to 2 weeks old work best. For Easter, I always buy eggs ahead of time. I put the eggs in a pan, cover with COLD water 1" over the eggs; bring to a boil over medium/medium high heat. Once the water comes to a boil, cook for 1-2 minutes, then turn off the heat and cover the pot with a lid. Let sit for 10-15 minutes depending on egg size. Drain water and cool immediately with cold water (I drop the eggs in bowl of ice water). Let them sit for a couple minutes and remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
PERFECT EGGS! I always have problems peeling eggs, especially fresh ones. I will always use this method to boil my eggs from now on, the shell practically slipped off of the eggs! Just in time for Easter too, I'm so happy, thank you for sharing this Ken! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Although I consider myself an above-average cook, hard boiled eggs had never turned out correctly. Until now! Thanks to Ken's recipe I finally had a hard boiled egg turn out perfect! They peeled cleanly and easily and the yolk was cooked through without turning green around the edges. Follow recipe exactly...it won't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
IT WORKS Tried this recipe and no problems. Tried the plain water method and had problems peeling the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
For those who had their eggs crack after carefully lowering them into the boiling water? It's because the ice cold eggs are hitting boiling water. Allow the eggs to get to room temp and this recipe works perfectly. And use cool water to cool them down, not ice water...again, it's the super hot hitting the super cold that will cause the shell to crack. Also, if you're making Deviled eggs and want the yolk perfectly centered in the middle of the egg, GENTLY stir the eggs for about 2 or 3 minutes after placing them in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States