Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Have used this several times and it is now my standard method for boiling eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I raise my own chickens, so my eggs are always hard to peel. These peeled perfectly and were done to perfection. Oddly though, it made all the brown eggs lose their color and they all came out white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I am 53 years old and have tried all kinds of methods for boiling eggs, including using "old" eggs. It's always been hit and miss with sticking egg shells. We boiled 2.5 dozen eggs yesterday with Ken's vinegar/salt water. It is THE BEST method I have ever tried!!!! The peels slipped right off even after overnight refrigeration. The yolks are a beautiful yellow with no grayish coating. I'm so pleased. This is going into my favorites book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I agree with the majority. I follow the timing of the recipe very closely and eyeball the vinegar, salt, and water making sure there is enough to cover the eggs by about an inch. So easy and they do come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I seriously could not understand how every time I attempted to hard boiled eggs through trying different recipes and practicing over and over my eggs came out under cooked EVERY TIME. I vowed that if this recipe didn't work that I would never attempt to hard cook an egg again. lol Ken I thank you for having a simple recipe that makes perfect hard boiled eggs. They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Barrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I followed the directions to a key and got perfect eggs indeed! Thank you, Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Absolutely perfect! Ive tried many other methods. This one is THE ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I like to put hardboiled eggs in my salad, so it matters how easy they are to peel and how bright the whites and yolk are. Finally I've made perfect hardboiled eggs I've ever made! I've tried other methods (boiling without vinegar and also baking) but the shell is hard to remove, the white isn't as bright and the yolk gets greenish. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The first time I've ever had hard-boiled eggs turn out perfect!! I'm over 70 years old and FINALLY found a recipe that actually works and I couldn't be happier. Where have you been all my life, Ken? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe does work! Without the vinegar and salt there will be graying of the yolk. The ice water plunge shrinks the membrane and allows it to peel away from the white easily. I did have to lengthen my boiling time to 20 mins. Also, for those having difficulties with cracking as they enter the water, use a large tablespoon to gently lower the cold eggs into the boiling water. Be sure to guide them with the spoon all the way to the bottom! No need to allow them to reach room temperature before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States