Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The first time I've ever had hard-boiled eggs turn out perfect!! I'm over 70 years old and FINALLY found a recipe that actually works and I couldn't be happier. Where have you been all my life, Ken? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe does work! Without the vinegar and salt there will be graying of the yolk. The ice water plunge shrinks the membrane and allows it to peel away from the white easily. I did have to lengthen my boiling time to 20 mins. Also, for those having difficulties with cracking as they enter the water, use a large tablespoon to gently lower the cold eggs into the boiling water. Be sure to guide them with the spoon all the way to the bottom! No need to allow them to reach room temperature before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DameLibelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This works most of the time for nicely cooked, easy to peel eggs. The trick for me seems to be following directions precisely. Whenever I don't, they are not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The eggs were well cooked, but most of them were VERY hard to shell. Out of 12 I only had 2 that came out perfect. However, that might have more to do with the freshness of the eggs than the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I will never make eggs this way again. I followed the recipe exactly, even used the timer. Peeling took forever and when I was done they looked like swiss cheese. I thought, luckily I am using them in a salad. Then I started to cut them and my biggest egg fear came true. They were not done. A waste of 8 eggs. Had to go without. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I wish i knew to add vinegar a long time ago. It only took two peels to get the shell off my eggs. Literally! The top came off then the bottom and done! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Ken, with 40+ yrs of cooking and many first time failed attempts, this 'first' a-b-s-o-l-u-t-e-l-y worked for me . I halved the amount for 4 eggs, allowed them to come to room temp. Had one egg(slightly) crack, though did not result with egg whites floating about. Timed them at 15 minutes, shells easily came off, cooked through and no ring bling. The next time I can't sleep, kitchen and fame, here I come. lol Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The recipe is for room temperature large eggs. Yolks are creamy with no grey or green rings. Whites are silky and firm, not rubbery. Perfect is the right word, Ken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wow I never thought it was possible! Have tried so many things over the years and now I have prefect hard boiled eggs in front of me. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Tonight was my first time making hard boiled eggs! I avoided this recipe due to the stench of sulfur hard boiled eggs can produce. I didn't measure anything, just boiled water and added some vinegar and salt to the mix. I didn't have any ice so I just added the eggs to a bowl of cold water and they came out perfectly! I ended up making deviled eggs, that's how fresh the yolks were! Also happy to report that there was no stinky smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States