Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
For the past 3 years I have searched for a recipe like this. All other recipes resulted in discolored yolk. Followed this recipe exactly, and they are PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
An excellent recipe. The eggs were very easy to peel. I live at high altitude and the large eggs were perfect at 14-15 minutes. I checked one at 14 minutes and it wasn't quite done. So, I cooked the rest of the eggs for 15 minutes. The yolks were a beautiful yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is exactly what I needed this Easter! My husband always complains that the shells stick to the eggs when I hard boil them... This year is different! I was so happy to finally figure out,with your recipe, the right way to do it. Thank you Ken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Works great! Perfect consistency and the yokes are a beautiful yellow. Shell separates nicely as well. (I didn't use vinegar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Awesome! The recipe worked perfectly. I've tried using just water followed by a cold bath. Never worked. This worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made a couple hard-boiled eggs in my day, and these are simply the best! The yolk is perfect the shells are perfect and they're very easy to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm in my sixties and have been boiling eggs for years. But I'm always game for anything new and better. I tripled the recipe for 2 dozen (room temp.) eggs. Used a big soup ladle to lower 2 at a time into the boiling water. Did everything as directed and my eggs came out perfect. To save on dishes, I carefully poured out the boiled water until most of it was gone, then immediately ran COLD faucet water over the eggs. Then I added a lot of ice cubes and let it sit. After 20 minutes, I peeled about 12 eggs and EVERY one of them peeled perfect. And these were very fresh eggs to begin with. With so many fresh eggs at Eastertime, it becomes almost impossible not to have batches that just won't peel (even for the pros). I've always done the shocking with cold water and ice and it didn't always work. THIS DID! I don't feel I need this method for year round since I usually don't boil fresh eggs. But it certainly is GREAT for big batches and when using FRESH eggs. Great job Ken, I'm converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really works. No sticking to the shell while peeling. Produces a nice, creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This works! Followed exactly as written. I will be making my eggs this way from now on! Peeling eggs is not a chore now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfect every-time! And I never do anything the way I'm supposed to....I used 6-8 eggs, put them in a pot added enough water to cover them, added whatever vinegar I had left in the 16 0z botttle..about a 1/2 inch from the bottom of the bottle...added some salt...just opened the container and poured a little in, I guess about a tablespoon or so. Then I forgot to time it...asked myself, "How long have these been on?" Answered myself (lol) "about 4 minutes or so"...so I gave them ten minutes on the timer , took them out- never bothering to check for doneness, ran them under cool water and left them in a container of cool water for probably 15 minutes- give or take a few. They peeled easily and were cooked exactly the ways Ken's picture shows....I couldn't mess them up - even with all of my carelessness. Thanks Ken! I have used your method several times- Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States