Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Never had Posole before so I have no "yard stick" to compare it to. This was a "killer" hearty "stoup". The tooth-feel of the hominy combined with all the other flavours and textures made it a joy to eat. I added crumbled chicharron to top it, gave it a smokey richness. *Slurp*!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I cannot tell you how delicious this recipe is, it deserves 10 stars! If you would like to make a healthier version you can also try it with turkey bacon and beef stew bits, if your store does not carry poblanos use canned green chiles. But let me be perfectly clear when I say this recipe is fantastic as is! I am mexican american and this tastes exactly like what I grew up with, the flavors are perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just fabulous! just enough spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! Even my two mexican friends were really impressed. We have young children in the household so we omitted the jalapeno peppers and it was one hit and one miss.. It was perfect for a cold day and not too hard to make. I will definitely make this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
It's still cooking and it's DELICIOUS!!! I can't wait till it's done. I didnt change the recipe at all and it's perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really good although I made some adjustments. I didn't use any bacon, I thought it would take away from the actual flavor. I also left out the cloves, personal preference. I fried the pork in a little olive oil instead. Otherwise I followed it exactly and it was so delicious and comforting. Served it with some warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This stuff is great. I had never eaten posole before so didn't know what to expect. Except for it being a little too salty for me, it was really good. I used turkey bacon rather than regular bacon and fried it in olive oil to make it a little more heart-friendly. A bit of sour cream on top really makes a huge difference--fantastic. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe is delicious!! The only other time I have had Posole was at a Traditional Spanish celebration with friends from Mexico who own a Mexican restaurant, so it was the real thing. And this recipe is almost identical. May be too spicy for some. Def needs the lime and cabbage to garnish. I served with warm corn tortillas. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
wow I made good posole before but this is the BEST ! wouldn't change a thing except if you like it chili hot, fire it up with another jalapeno or two. Perfect for cold rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I've made a few changes, so the rating reflects that, although I would rate it 4 stars when made as written (which I did the first time I made it. For my taste, the hominy has a good "bite" but no flavor. So now I add 2 14.5oz. cans of white hominy and 2 14.5oz cans of sweet corn. I don't like to mess with all of those peppers on a normal weeknight, so I substitute 1/2 cup of salsa verde for both types of peppers. I also use this recipe when I have leftover pork tenderloin to use up, so I can skip that part of step 3, and just add the leftover pork with the stock. I think that I would like to try adding one more can of enchilada sauce in place of one cup of stock; I think the enchilada sauce kind of gets "lost" in all that broth, so I'm going to give that a try the next time I make this. We serve it with tortilla strips, shredded mild cheddar and sliced avocado. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States