Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Incredible flavor! I couldn't get poblano chile so I just used a can of diced green chiles. Topped with cabbage, avocado, and lime and served with flour tortillas. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
In one word, YUM. I did tweak this a bit, but I know the original recipe is probably even better. I used some shredded pork I made/froze a few weeks ago. I also omitted the bacon/drippings, substituted enchilada sauce with more chili powder, cumin, oregano, and a can of tomato paste, added a can of black beans, and the store didn't have any poblano peppers (BOOO) so those were left out. Even so, this was still such a fantastic dish, VERY flavorful. My husband loved it so much, he was coming home on his lunch break to eat it. This will definitely be made in my house again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Never had Posole before so I have no "yard stick" to compare it to. This was a "killer" hearty "stoup". The tooth-feel of the hominy combined with all the other flavours and textures made it a joy to eat. I added crumbled chicharron to top it, gave it a smokey richness. *Slurp*!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I cannot tell you how delicious this recipe is, it deserves 10 stars! If you would like to make a healthier version you can also try it with turkey bacon and beef stew bits, if your store does not carry poblanos use canned green chiles. But let me be perfectly clear when I say this recipe is fantastic as is! I am mexican american and this tastes exactly like what I grew up with, the flavors are perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just fabulous! just enough spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! Even my two mexican friends were really impressed. We have young children in the household so we omitted the jalapeno peppers and it was one hit and one miss.. It was perfect for a cold day and not too hard to make. I will definitely make this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
It's still cooking and it's DELICIOUS!!! I can't wait till it's done. I didnt change the recipe at all and it's perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really good although I made some adjustments. I didn't use any bacon, I thought it would take away from the actual flavor. I also left out the cloves, personal preference. I fried the pork in a little olive oil instead. Otherwise I followed it exactly and it was so delicious and comforting. Served it with some warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This stuff is great. I had never eaten posole before so didn't know what to expect. Except for it being a little too salty for me, it was really good. I used turkey bacon rather than regular bacon and fried it in olive oil to make it a little more heart-friendly. A bit of sour cream on top really makes a huge difference--fantastic. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States