Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! Best ive had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonathan yarger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Yummers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is the best recipe for posole hands down! My wife is from old Mexico and I cooked this for her birthday, needless to say She went crazy for it and let everyone try it. It was gone way to fast. I usually don't like posole but this one was superb. Thank you Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great dish. Easy to prepare though while I'm not the fastest microwave in the kitchen - I'm not slow either, 20 minutes prep time just didn't do it for me. I was closer to 40 min at least. I will do it again and double the recipe and freeze some (2x the prep doesn't mean 2x the prep time). Love the taste. Could be a bit hot in the flavor if you aren't used to spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I've never had Pasole so I can't speak to the authenticity of flavor this recipes provides, however, I will say that we all really enjoyed this meal! I was skeptical to add clove, but so happy I did. The flavors are perfectly balanced and the pork was tender and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Ken, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! I followed the recipe exactly (including the ground cloves), and Hubs and I couldn't quit eating it. I wasn't able to find the 14.5 oz size can of red enchilada sauce, so I added the entire 20 oz. size can but don't feel that this changed the taste. I put everything in my slow cooker and cooked it on low for 6-7 hours, and it was PERFECT! Try Ken's recipe - you won't be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dojose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site. I make no changes to it and it turns out delicious every time. It does have a small kick, so for those of you sensitive to heat, I would be wary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My 3rd or 4th batch is simmering on the stove as I type this. I try to follow the recipe as exactly as I can and it is delicious every time. It is so good, I have given a batch of it as a gift. The only ingredient substitutions I have made are: ** Pork sirloin roast works just as well as tenderloin, just trim the fat when you slice into cubes. Sirloin roasts usually seem to be cheaper. ** Grocery didn't have Poblano peppers, so I substitute with Pasilla peppers. ** Was out of fresh or chopped-in-a-jar garlic, so I used powdered. *I like the cilantro better as a topping instead of cooking it. *Half/half with yellow and white hominy, just because. It does make a huge pot of soup, but being that it is pretty labor-intensive, that makes it worth your while. It freezes and reheats perfectly, so that's what I do. Once it's cold in the fridge, it thickens up and I spoon it into foodsaver bags and freeze it in those. I think it is actually even more tasty reheated. Awesome recipe, Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Kicked butt and took names!!! Need some sliced radishes for garnish but did not have any!! Total "go to" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved it! Every one thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States