Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My boyfriend who considers himself an honorary Mexican and has eaten a LOT of posole in his life said this is the best he's ever had! Now that's a compliment! It had a nice deep smoky flavour, tender meat, lotsa yummy hominy, just a little background of spicy, and a good broth-to-goodies ratio. Some notes: It did take me about an hour or more to get to the first simmer, although I was going at a leisurely pace. I subbed 1/8 tsp allspice because I was out of cloves, and used whole cumin seeds crushed with my mortar & pestal. I topped it with fresh lime, cilantro, shredded mexican blend cheese, extra crushed Mexican oregano, chunks of avocado, and homemade tortilla strips with cumin & corriander. I wish I had cabbage though. I think the crushed oregano really put it over the top. IMO it didn't need the cheese. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe I can't wait to eat the leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! The thing I did differently was that I used hot instead of mild enchilada sauce, and also I used leftover broth from my freezer (from carne en su jugo). I also cooked the pork roast whole and shredded it after it was cooked. I also served mine with cabbage, onion, raddish, limes, tostadas and hotsauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I cannot tell you how delicious this recipe is, it deserves 10 stars! If you would like to make a healthier version you can also try it with turkey bacon and beef stew bits, if your store does not carry poblanos use canned green chiles. But let me be perfectly clear when I say this recipe is fantastic as is! I am mexican american and this tastes exactly like what I grew up with, the flavors are perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Hi Ken! Yours is our new favorite posole recipe. The blend of chiles is spot on. I used blsl chicken breast instead of pork loin as this is what I had in the freezer. Condiments: sliced radishes, shredded cabbage, sliced scallions, sour cream and lime wedges. Fabulous! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I've made a few changes, so the rating reflects that, although I would rate it 4 stars when made as written (which I did the first time I made it. For my taste, the hominy has a good "bite" but no flavor. So now I add 2 14.5oz. cans of white hominy and 2 14.5oz cans of sweet corn. I don't like to mess with all of those peppers on a normal weeknight, so I substitute 1/2 cup of salsa verde for both types of peppers. I also use this recipe when I have leftover pork tenderloin to use up, so I can skip that part of step 3, and just add the leftover pork with the stock. I think that I would like to try adding one more can of enchilada sauce in place of one cup of stock; I think the enchilada sauce kind of gets "lost" in all that broth, so I'm going to give that a try the next time I make this. We serve it with tortilla strips, shredded mild cheddar and sliced avocado. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AMAZING!!! Made almost as written and this just may be my new favorite soup recipe, definitely makes the top 10 at least! I let it cook on low for 2 hours before adding the hominy, and then another hour on med-low and the pork was melt-in-your-mouth-fall-aparty!!! Next time I'll cut the recipe in half though cause it makes a VAT, I froze half but it won't be in there long =) Seved it with sliced radishes, avocado, sour cream, a lime wedge and fresh fried tortilla strips. I know some people like cabbage in Posole, but I prefer it without... Heck, some people put pig's feet in there too but I won't be making that addition either! I just LOVE this recipe, and it is authentic enough for this Gringa =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is one of my favorite Mexican stews. All the ingredients come together with full flavor. I also roasted the jalapenos (about 6), used about half the amount of chicken broth and garnished with sour cream and fresh avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-min-nim
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really good although I made some adjustments. I didn't use any bacon, I thought it would take away from the actual flavor. I also left out the cloves, personal preference. I fried the pork in a little olive oil instead. Otherwise I followed it exactly and it was so delicious and comforting. Served it with some warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this for my family's Sunday supper and everyone LOVED it! I read the recipe wrong so I only had half the amount of hominy needed (bought two 14.5 oz cans) so I threw in a can of black beans. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just fabulous! just enough spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States