Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is the best posole recipe ever!! I am from New Mexico, and this posole beats anything I've had before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Genius! I have had posole before and this is by far the best and most flavorful I have tried. I followed the recipe exactly except they didn't have poblanos at the store, so I used anaheim's instead. It is amazing! I want to make this for everyone I know now because nobody should be excluded from this deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Although I've been a member for quite some time, this is my first review! Ken, my husband wanted me to thank you for this most awesome posole recipe. I didnt change a thing, although hubby poured about half a Modelo (mexican beer) in it while I was looking! HA! Fantastico! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Love, love, love it! This has become our new favorite soup and also was a hit at a recent work party. A few times I substituted roasted Hatch green chiles since it was what I had on hand, but keep everything else the same. We like to top it with diced white onion, more cilantro and lime juice. Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Incredible flavor! I couldn't get poblano chile so I just used a can of diced green chiles. Topped with cabbage, avocado, and lime and served with flour tortillas. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
In one word, YUM. I did tweak this a bit, but I know the original recipe is probably even better. I used some shredded pork I made/froze a few weeks ago. I also omitted the bacon/drippings, substituted enchilada sauce with more chili powder, cumin, oregano, and a can of tomato paste, added a can of black beans, and the store didn't have any poblano peppers (BOOO) so those were left out. Even so, this was still such a fantastic dish, VERY flavorful. My husband loved it so much, he was coming home on his lunch break to eat it. This will definitely be made in my house again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Never had Posole before so I have no "yard stick" to compare it to. This was a "killer" hearty "stoup". The tooth-feel of the hominy combined with all the other flavours and textures made it a joy to eat. I added crumbled chicharron to top it, gave it a smokey richness. *Slurp*!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I cannot tell you how delicious this recipe is, it deserves 10 stars! If you would like to make a healthier version you can also try it with turkey bacon and beef stew bits, if your store does not carry poblanos use canned green chiles. But let me be perfectly clear when I say this recipe is fantastic as is! I am mexican american and this tastes exactly like what I grew up with, the flavors are perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just fabulous! just enough spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States