Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I've tried many posole recipes and this one is by far the best yet. I didn't use either of the peppers because we're not into spicy spicy, but my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yum! Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this. Being HUGE fans of all Mexican food, I did not doubt for a second that this would receive a thumbs up in our house. My hubs said this was by far the best meal I've ever prepared and even commented that it tops his all-time favorite - chicken & dumplings! :) The only downside is that this takes a considerable amount of time and effort to prepare. I felt like I spent more time chopping, dicing and roasting than I did actually cooking the posole lol. If it weren't for me working from home these days, this would have to be a special weekend meal. I usually make slight changes to new recipes, but didn't this time. THIS IS PERFECT AS IS. DON'T CHANGE A SINGLE THING!!! The poblanos are perfect in this. They are earthy and once roasted, impart a WONDERFUL somkiness. The bacon also adds another level of smoky flavor and the hominy adds texture. On this note, I advise that you splurge for Mexican oregano and NM chile powder. Both have unique flavor profiles that complement this particular posole nicely (FYI, Mexican oregano has a stronger flavor, perfect for holding up to the boldness of Southwest cooking). Topped with shredded cabbage, sliced radish, cubed avocado and a squeeze of lime (a must!), this was a delicious meal. Warm corn tortillas were the perfect accompainment. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Ken! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
We've been making this for a couple of months now, and it is absolutely delicious! I've made it on the stove and in the crock pot. Either way, its just awesome! I usually skip the bacon and bacon grease, just because I don't usually have bacon available. The only other adjustments I made was reducing the chicken broth to 6 cups and adding another can of enchilada sauce. And if I feel like its a little brothy and thin, I'll add a mixture of a Tbs of cornstarch and a little water to thicken it up a bit. Don't forget to serve it with sliced avocados, lemon squeezes, shredded cabbage, chopped onion, and crumbled tortilla chips!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Totally yummy and easy preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Never made posole, or eaten posole before- what was I waiting for?? This is delicious, and the leftovers are even better. I left out one jalapeno, for the sake of my anti-spice kids, but there was still enough kick in it! Loved topping it with avocado, fresh tomatoes, and cilantro. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
The broth in this stuff is drinkable! Perfect spices. We all loved it. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This Posole is really amazing! I used pork sirloin roast because it was cheaper, but the meat was very tender and it didnt even have to cook a whole 2 hrs. I also used regular chili powder because I didnt have the mexican kind and I substituted ground cloves for italian seasoning. I have to say I like this Posole better than my mother in laws and she is from Mexico!!!!! 5 stars all the way, I cant wait to make this for her to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinaann7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious and not too difficult. Love the addition of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This came out more like soup... I was a little disappointed as the first posole I had was really good and it is roasted in the oven for a few hours. That made the pork very tender and fall apart yummy. This isn't as much... and the red enchilada sauce threw me off...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Sensational. We used pork neck bones and added smoked ancho chiles. We have been looking for a recipe that came close to the homemade posole we had recently in AZ. This had the kids begging for more and now it is one of the most requested meals we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States