Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Yummy!!!! Loved this! Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breebaby88
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
GREAT recipe!!! Did just a couple of things different but this recipe would stand alone just fine. My differences... *Roasted the Poblanos and Jalapenos at the same time. Did not cut them or anything just roasted on the sheet and peeled when cooled, then deseeded. *Added 1 diced carrot in with the onion and garlic *Had to use 4 cups of homemade broth and then 3 cups of Swansons flavor booster and water. *Used one can enchilada sauce (mild) and 2 small cans Rotels enchilada sauce (hot), *Only used one large can of hominy. It was just too much for our taste. My husband LOVED it and I felt it was near spot on - being hispanic I have had my share of Pozole and Menudo. This would rate right up there with my grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I LOVE this! I've never had posole before and did a search on here for it. I found three recipes that I saved and this is the first of the three that I tried. I'm thinking I may not need to make the other ones, as this was fantastic! I did adjust the amounts on some of the spices just because I'm not crazy about cumin or oregano. I also added twice as much stock to make it more of a soup than a stew. For a topper, I fried some thin tortilla strips and next time I'll make sure that I have avocado and cabbage on hand too. Now how soon can I get away with making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
YUM! 'nough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I've tried many posole recipes and this one is by far the best yet. I didn't use either of the peppers because we're not into spicy spicy, but my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yum! Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this. Being HUGE fans of all Mexican food, I did not doubt for a second that this would receive a thumbs up in our house. My hubs said this was by far the best meal I've ever prepared and even commented that it tops his all-time favorite - chicken & dumplings! :) The only downside is that this takes a considerable amount of time and effort to prepare. I felt like I spent more time chopping, dicing and roasting than I did actually cooking the posole lol. If it weren't for me working from home these days, this would have to be a special weekend meal. I usually make slight changes to new recipes, but didn't this time. THIS IS PERFECT AS IS. DON'T CHANGE A SINGLE THING!!! The poblanos are perfect in this. They are earthy and once roasted, impart a WONDERFUL somkiness. The bacon also adds another level of smoky flavor and the hominy adds texture. On this note, I advise that you splurge for Mexican oregano and NM chile powder. Both have unique flavor profiles that complement this particular posole nicely (FYI, Mexican oregano has a stronger flavor, perfect for holding up to the boldness of Southwest cooking). Topped with shredded cabbage, sliced radish, cubed avocado and a squeeze of lime (a must!), this was a delicious meal. Warm corn tortillas were the perfect accompainment. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Ken! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
We've been making this for a couple of months now, and it is absolutely delicious! I've made it on the stove and in the crock pot. Either way, its just awesome! I usually skip the bacon and bacon grease, just because I don't usually have bacon available. The only other adjustments I made was reducing the chicken broth to 6 cups and adding another can of enchilada sauce. And if I feel like its a little brothy and thin, I'll add a mixture of a Tbs of cornstarch and a little water to thicken it up a bit. Don't forget to serve it with sliced avocados, lemon squeezes, shredded cabbage, chopped onion, and crumbled tortilla chips!! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Totally yummy and easy preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Never made posole, or eaten posole before- what was I waiting for?? This is delicious, and the leftovers are even better. I left out one jalapeno, for the sake of my anti-spice kids, but there was still enough kick in it! Loved topping it with avocado, fresh tomatoes, and cilantro. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States