Kendra's Maid-Rite Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My mom's been making this since I was a little girl! The only difference is that she uses a packet of onion soup mix and some water instead of the chopped fresh onion. So quick and easy and CHEAP but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
FABULOUS! I made only one change: apple cider vinegar rather than distilled white vinegar. Midwesterners love this regional specialty, and this is the best-tasting "Maid-Rite" I've ever had! TIP: Make a huge pot of this stuff and freeze it in family-sized portions for a quick, delicious meal and a night off for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I've never had a Maid-Rite in my life, and had never even heard of such a thing until this recipe! I honestly didn't even know that it was a restaurant until googling it just now. I've never lived in an area that had one! Hope to try one someday. Anyway, I enjoyed this recipe, although I wish the meat came out a little juicier. I only used 1 lb of beef, therefore I halved all the other ingredients. Next time I will take another reviewer's advice and not half anything, because that will keep the meat jucier, like I wanted. Also, I stirred all the sauces/sugar/vinegar, etc into a bowl first, then poured that whole combined mixture over the meat. Very tasty, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helpmecook82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe. Even my child who "doesn't like" Maid Rites ate these. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These were okay. It reminded me of the canned Mamwich/Sloppy Joe stuff which Im not a huge fan of. The rest of the family liked it so I may make it again just not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a great little sandwich. It was similar to a sloppy joe without all the tomato saucey taste and spices. My husband said he liked this better than a sloppy joe sandwich and even went back for seconds. It was a bit dry though starting out so I added some beef broth and let it simmer until the liquid was gone, twenty minutes. No other changes. I'd eat this again, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These were really good a lot like sloppy joes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Otteni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Edwards, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I only used 1 pound of hamburger and kept the rest of the ingredients at the normal amounts (so twice as much sauce as would be normal) and it was GREAT! LOVE the flavor! They're not quite "Maid Rites" but they are similar and even more delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (other than doubling the sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These didn't taste bad, but definitely not the "maid-rites" I was expecting. Maid-rites aren't supposed to be saucey as I know them. If these were called "Sloppy Joe's" I would give them a much better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States