Kendra's Maid-Rite Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Really excellent flavor! I did increase the proportions of sauce ingredients because it was not as juicy as I liked. Several dashes of garlic powder (after tasting as is) made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Immediate Hit! Little resemblence to real Maid-Rites but a fantastic sandwich. Even better the next day. Must use mini buns to make 16 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These didn't taste bad, but definitely not the "maid-rites" I was expecting. Maid-rites aren't supposed to be saucey as I know them. If these were called "Sloppy Joe's" I would give them a much better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These sandwiches were good! Also very quick and easy, and made with ingredients that I have on hand... I used bison meat, and it worked well. In the instructions, "simmer" seemed a bit misleading to me. In my version there was very little liquid. So I just turned the burner down low for a few minutes after adding the ingredients. (So I made them even more quickly than I'd expected.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were a nice change of pace from sloppy joes, but I don't know that anyone in my house would ever request them since my son didn't like them and my husband and daughter didn't say anything. I liked that the ingredients are something I always have on hand, but I had to almost double the sauce ingredients. When I got to the simmering part the meat tasted a little bland and was so void of liquid it wouldn't hold together. Afraid of it burning while it sat there for 20 minutes I threw in some more of each ingredient and added some garlic powder as well. I would make this again if I needed something to throw together, but I don't find myself serving it to company or adding it to my cooking repertoire on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe looks exactly like what we called (in Iowa schools) taverns and how my mom used to make them. I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I'm willing to bet it'll take me back. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a great little sandwich. It was similar to a sloppy joe without all the tomato saucey taste and spices. My husband said he liked this better than a sloppy joe sandwich and even went back for seconds. It was a bit dry though starting out so I added some beef broth and let it simmer until the liquid was gone, twenty minutes. No other changes. I'd eat this again, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was the absolute easiest and yummiest thing. I didn't use ground beef instead I used ground buffalo. Mmmmm..buffalo, the healthy alternative to red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good recipe - easy and delicious. I added a little chili powder and a dash of cayenne to spice it up, and honey dijon insead of regular mustard, but easy, easy, easy to do any number of variations, or good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is quick and very good. I halved the recipe, since I only had a pound of hamburger, and followed the recipe exactly. I got just a small taste, as they were eaten up very quickly! Very sloppy joe-like, but different from the Manwich I typically use for a quick meal. Thanks Kendra :) ***UPDATE*** I made these again tonight, and once again, I only had one pound of hamburger. However, I forgot to halve the rest of the ingredients, and they still turned out great! Since they were extra sloppy, we used the potato chips I had made to go with it as scoops. This leads me to believe this would be great over mashed potatoes or wide noodles, for a nice change from buns :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States