Kendra's Maid-Rite Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made these for a group of people working hard on a Saturday helping my daughter build their new home. Thumbs up from everyone! They were delicious, easy to make since all of the ingredients are pretty standard in any cupboard and great to keep in a crock pot all day for anybody to come back and get some more. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe looks exactly like what we called (in Iowa schools) taverns and how my mom used to make them. I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I'm willing to bet it'll take me back. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were very good, maybe a little bit too sweet for my liking. But, the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This recipe was "GREAT"!! Better then any" Maid-Rite"I ever eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
What a mind blowing, awesome, and cheap meal! Hint: A few dabs of Soy sauce adds another unique feature to this meal! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergimpman4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were a nice change of pace from sloppy joes, but I don't know that anyone in my house would ever request them since my son didn't like them and my husband and daughter didn't say anything. I liked that the ingredients are something I always have on hand, but I had to almost double the sauce ingredients. When I got to the simmering part the meat tasted a little bland and was so void of liquid it wouldn't hold together. Afraid of it burning while it sat there for 20 minutes I threw in some more of each ingredient and added some garlic powder as well. I would make this again if I needed something to throw together, but I don't find myself serving it to company or adding it to my cooking repertoire on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Excellent flavor!! Not too sweet and not too tart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I used this recipe for my first time EVER making maid-rite/sloppy joe sandwiches. They turned out well and tasted great. After reading some of the other reviews, I doubled the sauce and added garlic powder as well, so they were really juicy. I needed a fork to finish mine because the bun was soggy! We made these for all the crew that helps us put up hay in the summertime, and it was a hit! Thanks Kendra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
tasted like a normal sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Awesome simple recipe! I was looking for something quick for supper last night and came across this recipe, 15 minutes, DONE! I did follow the suggestion of one reviewer and used a packet of beefy onion soup instead of the chopped onion (to save time) and added some garlic salt. It really hit the spot and I will be making it again. Thanks Kendra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States