Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
These were excellent but I did make a few changes. I didn't boil the peppers first and they were cooked perfect after 40 minutes in the oven, 25 minutes covered, 15 minutes uncovered at 400 degrees. Be sure to drizzle your baking dish with olive oil first. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes, 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic, chili powder, and oregano for extra flavor. My husband loves cheese so I mixed some in with the meat and sprinkled more on top at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1020 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
These are really, really good! I just started working at a restaurant and have learned some new things, so I actually tweaked this: (1) Put the dried garlic in the rice water so that the rice is infused with the garlic flavor. (2)Don't boil the peppers, blanch them. This keeps them from getting too discolored when you pre-cook them. (Don't worry, they will still cook sufficiently in the oven.) (3) Add about 1/2 teaspoon coriander and cumin and then add cayenne pepper to taste after you add the tomato sauce. This takes care of other reviewers complaints that there's not enough flavor, but as you cook this, taste it to make sure it is what you want in flavor. ALWAYS TASTE AS YOU GO WHEN YOU COOK !!!!! (4) These really only need about 30 minutes in the oven to get soft too, so don't overdo it. I hope you find these comments helpful! In the immortal words and voice of Julia Child, "Bon Appetit!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
849 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I would advise either adding about a cup of Ketchup...or simply buying about 20 or more ounces of Spagetti sauce, and using it instead of the meager amount of Tomato sauce posted in this recipe. Much better taste. Also...when you par-boil something...the meat is already cooked..etc...it does not need to be in the oven for 45 minutes. That's big time over-kill. I baked mine for 20 minutes, then added the cheese and melted it for 6 minutes. Keeps the peppers firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
We really enjoyed this meal. The first time I did as was written exactly and my husband and 14 year old really liked it. My two younger kids (5 and 2) wouldnt touch it, but I really didn't expect them to. I made it again tonite, but spiced up the meat mixture a little more with season salt and a good amount of garlic powder. I also used instant brown rice and it worked very well. I also poured a can of tomatoe soup (I mixed water with it as if I were making soup) in the bottom of the pan as it was cooking in the oven and it made for a really tasty sauce. I really enjoyed it this way better and have already added this recipie to my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Tasting the stuffing before it was baked, I knew this was going to be horribly bland. Also, I felt there was too much rice. I added cumin, chili powder, worcestershire sauce and soy sauce, and rather than shredding the cheese and using it as a topping, I cubed it and mixed it in with the stuffing just before stuffing. They turned out great this way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I had never made stuffed peppers before. My husband actually will not eat peppers on/in anything. I decided to try it anyways and everyone loved them. My picky 2yr old loved them and my father raved about how much better they were than my Mom's peppers (forbid!). I've used chopped canned tomatoes, tomato sauce and spaghetti sauce. My family seems to prefer the spaghetti sauce overall. I also use both cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
A friend gave me some bell peppers from her garden and I was looking for a recipe with ingredients I had on hand..these were very tasty and I would make again. I like more sauce so I added chopped tomatoes and tomato sauce to mixture..then I poured a small can of tomato juice over the peppers before placing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foxworth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Adding mushrooms is a great addition that I did & since I usually have medium cheddar cheese on hand. I would like to add a note (someone else may have said this, too..I haven't read reviews yet). Making stuffed peppers is a whole lot easier if you set them in muffin/cupcake tins. They don't tip over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These were great! They are easy to prepare and I had almost all of the ingredients in my pantry already. I chose not to boil the peppers and just bake them longer, but some parts were still hard, so from now on I will boil the peppers first. Other than that, everyone raved! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAY06BRIDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My husband loves stuffed peppers, and is returning from Mexico (buisness) soooo I thought I'd make them. This is a good recipe, I used a clove of minced garlic, we also learned that the baby (20 months) loves em' too. Turned out great, Kelsey, your a lucky girl. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States