Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Not an OMG thing, but good. I used italian sausage instead of beef and a jar of pasta sauce instead of the can of tomato sauce. Several people complained about blandness, so I think my changes took care of that. Also, since I used sausage that is already fairly salty, I did not need to add extra salt. And I did not top them with cheese just because I didn't want to. Oh...and I did not bother pre-cooking the peppers. I stuffed them raw and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe as written, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was good but I made several changes. I made the rice in the rice cooker and then added it to the beef. I added 1 cup of beef stock, 1 bay leaf and some cayenne and let it simmer while my peppers were blanching in the oven. DH said the rice/meat mixture needed something. Per his suggestion we added a generious handful of italian breadcrumbs...and what do you know...it really boosted the flavor. We topped with sauce and a mexican cheese blend then covered the skillet with foil & baked on 350 for 35 minutes (since I blanched peppers). DH said several times "that was so good". KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious! Used pork sausage and spaghetti sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
DELISH!!!! I made these last night and my hubby gobbled up 2 of them in less than 5 minutes! lol, I tweaked the recipe a little by using spaghetti sauce (1 1/4 cups) to add a punch of flavor and a sprinkle of adobo seasoning from Goya. I didn't add as much cheese cause my hubbys not much on too much cheese but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is not the one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great starter recipe. I happen to do my stuffed pepper slightly differntly. I do not brown my meat and I use instant rice. When I mix the raw ground beef I add 1 egg, some italian seasoning, a can of tomato paste, the uncooked instant rice and about 1/2 cup of water (to help with cooking the instant rice), I do blanche my peppers if I am making them in the oven, but if I stick them in the crock pot then I do not blanche them first. I stuff without packing firmly and then put any additional beef mixture around the peppers. Cover is 1/2 jar of your favorite chunky spaghetti sauce, cover with aluminum foil and bake about 1 1/2 hours @ 350. This is very moist since you are not browning the beef first. This is always a hit and cooks very well in the crock pot on low for 4-6 hours depending on the strength of your crock pot. Hope this helps anyone looking for a recipe without browing the ground beef first. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merziedotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made these for Christmas Eve. They were a big hit. I did use 4 large green peppers (there was a lot of rice mixture) and bought an extra can of tomato sauce (for dipping). I will make these again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were good, but could have used a little more oomph. I think next time, I'll make them with sausage instead of ground beef, or maybe 1/2 and 1/2...but they were still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Thought these were just okay. Not bad...just "okay". Won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States