Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Gowins
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a good basic recipe for stuffed green peppers. It makes a good starting point and allows you to personalize the dish to your own taste. I added some Italian seasoning and a little crushed red pepper flakes to the filling before stuffing the peppers. I made the recipe for 4 servings, baked two of the stuffed peppers and froze the other two stuffed peppers. I placed the pepper halves cut sides together so that it looked like one one big pepper half. Then I filled them with the stuffing mixture, poured more tomatoe sauce over them, and sprinkled a little more Italian seasoning over top. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. I served them with the suggested mashed potatoes and corn, topping the mashed potatoes with some of the excess tomato sauce as a gravy. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gowins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe was very tasty, as I love stuffed peppers. The only changes I would make would be to add more sauce and not cook for a full 45 min., I felt it was too dry. I also did not blanch the peppers first and they came great! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Just made this and it was great. Didn't change anything. There are just 2 of us, so made it with 2 peppers and have leftovers for tomorrow. It's a keeper. Thanks, Kelsey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeville, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very good. Why not blanch the peppers first and then cook the rice in the same pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made these with a few tweeks, made it more flavorful and spicey, yummy! I read the other reviews as I always do and came up with this...I never measure anything, I always eyeball it... I doubled the meat, and used ground turkey to make it healthier. I did add the garlic powder to the rice as it cooked. I added 2 lg garlic cloves, worceshire (sp) sauce, coriander, cayenne, chili powder, cumen, oregano, italian seasoning, little bit of bread crumbs, little extra tom sauce and can diced tomatoes. I also added parm and mozzarella cheeses to the meat mixture. Then I topped the peppers with the mozz cheese as well. I just sprinkled enough of each of the spices over the meat once it cooked, not too much of each, but enough to def give it flavor. The cayenne and coriander gave it a nice spicy taste. My hubby isn't a fan of stuffed peppers, but he loved this! I didn't even waste time boiling the peppers, I baked this covered for 25 mins at 385 degrees, then uncovered for 10-15 mins. I poured some of the tom sauce and EVOO on the bottom of the dish, so the peppers didn't burn. They were nice and soft, not crunchy or mushy. I doubled the meat/ingredients and had enough to put in a pan all by itself, after over filling my peppers. It was sooo good. It was good for those that don't like the peppers, or just want extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
One Suggestion I have is to parboil the peppers, then use some of that water to cook the rice. It will add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe and my husband really loved it. I blanched the peppers and baked them for roughly 40 minutes and they came out nicely done. Instead of using tomato sauce in the beef mixture I used a can of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this tonight, it was pretty tasty but I changed it to match our dietary restrictions. I didn't parboil the peppers, they baked just fine in the time I alloted them in the oven. I used brown rice instead of white, about half a cup uncooked, ground turkey, and added a can of Rotel to the can of tomato sauce, and added some chopped fresh garlic. I boiled the rice with 1 t of garlic powder in the water. I used way less mozzarella (fat free) and mixed in a bit of low fat parmesan. The used of the ground turkey eliminated a large amount of fat in the bottom of the peppers. I will make it again, probably change it everytime! Great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is for adult palates. It has different textures and flavors which makes it bot thasty and good nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryline

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The only change I made was I cut my peppers in half & removed the insides. I put them in a microwave safe pie plate, put water in the peppers, and microwaved them for 4 to 5 minutes. Discard water, and they are blanched without boiling on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States