Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe and my husband really loved it. I blanched the peppers and baked them for roughly 40 minutes and they came out nicely done. Instead of using tomato sauce in the beef mixture I used a can of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this tonight, it was pretty tasty but I changed it to match our dietary restrictions. I didn't parboil the peppers, they baked just fine in the time I alloted them in the oven. I used brown rice instead of white, about half a cup uncooked, ground turkey, and added a can of Rotel to the can of tomato sauce, and added some chopped fresh garlic. I boiled the rice with 1 t of garlic powder in the water. I used way less mozzarella (fat free) and mixed in a bit of low fat parmesan. The used of the ground turkey eliminated a large amount of fat in the bottom of the peppers. I will make it again, probably change it everytime! Great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is for adult palates. It has different textures and flavors which makes it bot thasty and good nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryline

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The only change I made was I cut my peppers in half & removed the insides. I put them in a microwave safe pie plate, put water in the peppers, and microwaved them for 4 to 5 minutes. Discard water, and they are blanched without boiling on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Good recipe. I also add a cup of frozen corn. I suggest that you slit a few small holes in the bottom of the pepper so the fat from the ground beef doesn't lay in the bottom of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is the recipe I have used for years. Huge favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'm always looking for ways to make recipes quicker and easier since I don't usually have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen. I have been making stuffed peppers for 40 years using basically this same recipe. The difference is that I don't precook anything. I use raw ground beef, uncooked peppers, uncooked rice (sometimes minute rice) and spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. If I use tomato sauce, I add Worchestershire, various seasonings or whatever sounds good at the time. They do have to cook longer, though. This method is so much easier and a lot less clean-up. I have also made them the evening before, refrigerated them and just popped them in the oven when I got home from work the next evening. They also aren't bad in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My mother started making stuffed peppers this way 60 years ago except she never parboiled the peppers and after stuffing them she continued the cooking in a large sauce pan. Our sides were always corn and mashed potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Adding mushrooms is a great addition that I did & since I usually have medium cheddar cheese on hand. I would like to add a note (someone else may have said this, too..I haven't read reviews yet). Making stuffed peppers is a whole lot easier if you set them in muffin/cupcake tins. They don't tip over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful!! I tried making these w/o boiling peppers prior to cooking as some said they got too mushy - but next time I will boil them as I prefer my peppers soft instead of crunchy -- so this recipe was COMPLETELY spot on! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States