Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Good but I agree with other reviewers kind of bland and they need more flavor. I will make again just adding more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Ok, so I made a lot of changes to this recipe as a matter of preference, and to use up some things in the freezer and fridge. I used orzo instead of rice that I had already cooked and frozen. I also had arrabiatta sauce in the freezer, so I used that instead of the can of tomato sauce, which added a nice little kick. There was just a little shredded cheddar, so I threw that into the mix, along with a mozzarella/provolone blend. I didn’t bother boiling the peppers first – just stuffed them raw, as I didn’t want them to get mushy. My end result – GREAT!! When I plated these I put a little pool of remaining arrabiatta sauce on the plate and topped it with the peppers. Just goes to show that this is easily altered and still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
These stuffed peppers are delicious and so easy to prepare. I love stuffed peppers, but had never tried to make them myself because I thought it would be complicated. Then I found this recipe which seemed so simple, so I gave it a try. I've made these twice now, and I'm amazed at how simple they are to prepare and how yummy they taste! Try 'em, you'll love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. I had to use turkey as hubby can't eat ground beef, and I followed your directions to the letter, mmmmmm soooo good, we had fresh bell peppers from the garden and they were outstanding, my son don't like bell peppers so he just ate the stuffing and said it was off the hook! (what ever that means!) Thanks Kelsey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I just made these stuffed peppers. They were very good and as some other reviewers pointed out do not have enough flavor in the stuffing. Next time I will add fresh garlic and more seasonings. I also agree with other reviewers that it is overkill to boil the peppers and then bake another 45 minutes. Overall it was a good easy meal to make and easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
In reading the reviews I felt this recipe needed a lot of help. I almost feel that I should just put a new recipe on and not bother rating this one; but here goes anyway. I sauteed the onion in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, then added some fresh garlic (about 1 clove). When that was soft but not brown, I added a cup of long cooking rice and 1 3/4 cups of chicken broth (adds so much flavor). I cooked and then cooled some. I then added this to the hamburger (raw). Stirred about 2/3 of a 24 oz jar of my favorite spaghetti sauce and mixed all together. I also added pepper at this point. (Didn't feel it needed salt because of the other additions). Filled 3 peppers halved. Place in a 9 x 13 dish and spooned the rest of the spag sauce on top. I put a little water in the bottom of the dish so the peppers wouldn't burn. Baked this at 325 for about 45 minutes covered, then uncovered and topped each with some mixed Italian Cheese. Didn't measure, just a nice handful on each pepper. I baked for an additional 20 minutes until the cheese was melted and starting to brown. I realize that this has totally altered the original recipe but it was so good and really not that much work. In fact I think this method was easier than the original. I just could see no reason to blanch peppers and double cook hamburger. My baking time was a little longer but I wasn't in a hurry so it worked out great. Smelled so good while baking and tasted so good when eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A new totally favorite in my home. this shall be my stuffed pepper recipe from now on. Did not change one thing and no plans to. Good job, Kelsey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I added Italian seasoning and did not blanche the peppers, they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weslie Green
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The version I wound up with wasn't bad, but it strayed from the original. I used a little less meat and rice (because that's what I had on hand), and used a jar of pasta sauce from TJ instead of tomato sauce. I blanched the pepper halves (dropped in boiling water for 5 minutes), and baked the stuffed peppers for only 30 minutes (plus about 5 more after adding cheese). The result was tasty, and I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Wow...this recipe is a lot of work! So many steps for what ends up just being a casserole. I think I'll stick with my own stuffed pepper recipe which uses raw rice, raw peppers, and raw beef and cooks everything in the oven (or crockpot). It is much easier and tastes better because all of the flavours mingle while cooking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States