Kelsandra's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is an outstanding cinnamon roll recipe. I highly recommend this one. I followed the recipe just as it's written, with the exception of two minor additions and one omission: I added raisins to the filling and a teaspoon of orange zest to the icing. I left the milk out of the glaze as we preferred to keep it thick like a typical cream cheese icing, but don't omit it if you are looking for more of a glaze than an 'icing'. The rolls were tender and chewy with wonderful flavor. Well done on this spectacular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
After looking over this recipe and reading it's reviews, I decided I was feeling adventurous enough to take it on. This is certainly not a typical cinnamon roll recipe, from the ingredients right down to the rising pattern, so I knew that deferring specifically to how it's written would be my first step. I made sure not to use fat free evaporated milk and I used olive oil, not vegetable oil. Olive oil in baking often produces wonderful results, I have found. I did not find the need to add extra flour. 5 cups was perfect. I've no doubt adding extra flour would have affected my results. Note that I missed the 'cook's note' at the bottom of the recipe upon first review, so popped the buns straight into the oven. I must say we enjoyed the results, finding the rolls moist and delightfully flavored. The most remarkable thing about this recipe is how moist and delicious the buns were still, a few days later (only two of us in the household). A typical cinnamon roll will only last a day before becoming stale. What a delightful surprise this recipe was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
We enjoyed these, but I did feel they were missing something. I think chopped pecans would be a wonderful addition to the filling. I expected more pumpkin flavor with this recipe, but enjoyed the flavor as made. The dough was extremely soft and sticky, requiring an additional cup or so of flour to make a workable dough. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make the dough. I did make 16 rolls rather than 12, and baked the extra four in a small casserole dish. My coworkers loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by minnersmom
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These were good cinnamon rolls although I felt I tasted more of the spices rather than the pumpkin (ginger and cloves especially). I prefer 'regular' cinnamon rolls - but these ARE fun for the season. One note - only in the footnotes does it say anything about letting the form rolls raise in the pan. I highly suggest you do thisa as it makes the rolls lighter and fluffier and that's how they should be. Allowing a yeast dough to rise in a pan once formed is a given. Because this recipe stated to bake them right after forming, I DID try that and the taste was fine but the rolls were heavy and dense. I then made a second batch, allowing them to rise in the pan for 30 mins before baking and the not only was the texture much better and lighter, but they were much prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnersmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Holy cow these were so yummy! I used half whole wheat flour just because that's what I had on hand and they were still moist and light. The dough WAS very sticky and required more flour than the recipe called for (at least an extra 1/2 c), but made for a very soft dough. Glad I added the raisins and walnuts as they definitely made these rolls amazing. I also halved the liquid in the frosting which turned out more like frosting and not like glaze. Will definitely make these again. Oh, and the super picky kids gobbled these faster than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankaff
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good Recipe, the dough is moist. I added my own Spice Cinnamon, Allspice, Cloves & nutmeg. I made texas Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe as written. I had to add an extra 2 cups of flour which is almost 50% more than the recipe calls for. (Looks like other reviews have had the same problem.) That’s a lot of flour to pack into 12 rolls and it makes for a dense, heavy roll. I let the rolls raise a second time in the pan before baking in hopes of getting a lighter roll. They were good fresh out of the oven, but once they cooled, we did not care for the texture at all. I made extra frosting by using an 8oz pkg of cream cheese and adjusted accordingly. We used every bit of the frosting and also topped some with pecans which was a great added improvement. Given the fact that this recipe ends up using 7c. of flour, I think they would be a lot better if you used 2 pkgs of yeast and divided them into 24 rolls (2 – 13x9 pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe has left much to be desired. The cinnamon rolls texture wise were good, but the flavor was a big miss. For some reason pumpkin mixed with yeast has a very odd flavor that just isn't very good. I was hoping for something a little closer to pumpkin bread, but it just wasn't so. Bye the way, the recipe doesn't mention to let the cinnamon rolls raise again after you shape and cut them. This is a very general step in most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made these today. They turned out pretty good. I added pecans to the recipe. I also think they needed a stronger pumpkin taste, and I also ended up adding about another cup of flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States