Kelsandra's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by minnersmom
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These were good cinnamon rolls although I felt I tasted more of the spices rather than the pumpkin (ginger and cloves especially). I prefer 'regular' cinnamon rolls - but these ARE fun for the season. One note - only in the footnotes does it say anything about letting the form rolls raise in the pan. I highly suggest you do thisa as it makes the rolls lighter and fluffier and that's how they should be. Allowing a yeast dough to rise in a pan once formed is a given. Because this recipe stated to bake them right after forming, I DID try that and the taste was fine but the rolls were heavy and dense. I then made a second batch, allowing them to rise in the pan for 30 mins before baking and the not only was the texture much better and lighter, but they were much prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnersmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe as written. I had to add an extra 2 cups of flour which is almost 50% more than the recipe calls for. (Looks like other reviews have had the same problem.) That’s a lot of flour to pack into 12 rolls and it makes for a dense, heavy roll. I let the rolls raise a second time in the pan before baking in hopes of getting a lighter roll. They were good fresh out of the oven, but once they cooled, we did not care for the texture at all. I made extra frosting by using an 8oz pkg of cream cheese and adjusted accordingly. We used every bit of the frosting and also topped some with pecans which was a great added improvement. Given the fact that this recipe ends up using 7c. of flour, I think they would be a lot better if you used 2 pkgs of yeast and divided them into 24 rolls (2 – 13x9 pans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Delicious! Needed another cup or so of flour. I doubled the spices, too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was pretty good and infact was the first time I have made cinnamon rolls. The pumpkin in the dough kind of gives it an odd texture but I brought it to school and the staff really enjoyed it. The only change I made was adding some pumpkin spice and more conf. sugar to the icing part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very yummy! I did have to add an extra 1 1/2-2 cups of flour when working with the dough. Could have been the weather. I thought it had plenty of pumpkin taste. The color was a bit odd, but they were very moist and great taste. Loved the frosting. Will use that again. Great recipe for a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made these today. They turned out pretty good. I added pecans to the recipe. I also think they needed a stronger pumpkin taste, and I also ended up adding about another cup of flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The dough was great to work with- it did take about a cup more flour to make it kneadable, but it was soft, rose beautifully, and was very easy to roll out. The pumpkin gives these a lovely color, but, not as much flavor as we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Picture perfect. Taste was lacking and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zhou
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Well, I didn't have cream cheese on hand so made vanilla icing instead. It might've been better with cream cheese icing since I thought the spice in the filling was way too much. It would've been perfect with just 1 tbsp. of pumpkin pie spice for me and my family. The dough was just perfect! Maybe because I didn't use canned pumpkin. I just microwaved diced Japanese pumpkin for 10 mins. and mashed it with a fork, cooled it and used it the next day for this recipe. Used about 2 cups of those and was perfect:) I was lucky since the pumpkin wasn't that watery this time around. (I use Japanese pumpkin all the time so I know.) Had hard time kneading though. Next time, I'll definately try it with cream cheese icing for sure;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe but came away disappointed. I coudn't really taste the pumpkin flavour at all, and the nutmeg flavour seemed a bit overpowering to me. The dough was also quite sticky; I probably ended up using 2 extra cups of flour to make the dough workable when all was said and done. I think I'll stick to the regular cinnamon buns from now on. I think this recipe is an interesting idea and could be tweaked to make it better, I'm just not sure what adjustments should be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States