Kelly's Slow Cooker Beef, Mushroom, and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was very flavorful. I did not use the barley-I cooked it and rice on the side (I loathe barley) and let everyone add what the wanted and how much. There is no need to change a thing. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious! I used tomato sauce, exactly like the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made this beef barley soup many,many times and we love it...did cut down barley to 3/4 cup. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really loved having this on the counter. Smelled so good! Tasted even better. Added a lot of celery for extra chunks. Two bay leaves are important to the taste of this dish. Pearl barley was so delicious to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
UPDATE: after writing my original review my husband and I heated the leftovers up for lunch. It had a very weird almost slimy texture to it. Maybe the barley breaking down a bit too much overnight. Very unpleasant. I'd possibly make this again (with changes) but definitely not save any leftovers. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Made this yesterday and my family thought it was ok. If I make it again I'll add some spices or heavily season the beef and then sear first to add more flavor. I would also add celery. I found the recipe as written to be tasty but a bit bland. I'll make it again with subtle changes and see how it goes. It sure made the kitchen smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I think this is a good recipe but needs to have less barley. I would do everything the same but with half the barley. It smelled delicious all day but was a little disappointing when I didn't need a spoon. I will try it again but with half the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Smelled great but lot of timely prep and ingredients for a bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We thought the barley was overpowering. Very boring taste. Followed the recipe- only addition was some red wine which didn't help. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States