Kelly's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really liked this recipe! HOWEVER I did add 1tbs garlic powder 1tbs cumin 1 can of corn and diced jalapenos. It was simple and delicious my kiddos and fiance loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am not usually a fan of chicken chili but this recipe is great with a few changes. 1 tablespoon of pepper must be a misprint. Reduce to 1 teaspoon or less. It also needs more liquid in my opinion. I added several cups of chicken broth. With the reduced pepper and added chicken broth it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I absolutely adore this recipe I like to use a thing of light kidney beans and a thing of dark kidney beans and I mix a package of taco seasoning in it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.wilde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I wanted to try something diferent for our annual chili party. This recipe was perfect. It was different enough but still "chili" enough. I did add a 15oz can of tomato sauce because it looked a bit dry; I was concerned to potatoes might not cook fully. The spice was just right! If I cut the chili powder, I think my 2 tear old would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MileHighBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Nice chili! I cut the recipe in half but still used 2 tablespoons of chili powder, since I like it so much. I also eyeballed the black pepper since I read that this recipe called for too much. I used dark kidney beans and added a garlic clove, and also used low-sodium vegetable broth (again, eyeballed it) instead of the liquid from the beans to cut down on the sodium. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out fantastic and I would recommend this recipe for anyone who wants chicken chili but not "white chili."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was good but like other reviewers I thought it was extremely hot when I taste tested it so I added a can of tomato sauce & a can of chicken broth (then it wasn't hot enough, so I didn't win). I also poached/boiled my chicken instead of frying it to cut that fat from the veg. oil. All in all it was good but need improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Based on another review, I cut the chili powder to 1 1/2 tablespoons and only used 1 teaspoon of pepper. Additionally, I added some curry powder, a bit of brown sugar, and more corn. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
AWESOME, SO YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I gave this chili 3 stars because I like the concept of it. I like the chicken and corn and it makes a very hearty chili. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars, though, is because it is EXTREMELY spicy. My husband and I had to add 2 or 3 dollops of sour cream to our bowls because it was just too much. I think the tbsp. of pepper is a mis-print, because my mom said in all her 50 years of cooking, she has never seen a recipe that calls for that much pepper! Next time I make this I will SIGNIFICANTLY reduce the amount of pepper and probably the chili powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RockStarPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I've never made chili before, and this recipe turned out great. I'm not a fan of beans so I omitted them. And to replace the bean liquid, I put a can of chicken broth in instead. To replace the beans, I just put in more potato and chicken. I also added a tsp. garlic salt, a tsp. of paprika, and a little more chili powder. It's got quite a kick and tastes great with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States