Kelly's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I needed to use up 1 lb of ground turkey, 1/2 can vegetarian refried beans, and 1/2 can sliced jalapeno peppers from a previous nacho dish (also from allrecipes, also awesome), so I substituted the ground turkey for the chicken, sauteed it in olive oil with an onion, and otherwise followed the recipe (halved), adding the refried beans and sliced jalapenos during the 25 minute simmer when the potatoes were cooking. My thirteen year-old, who doesn't like to try anything new, loved it. My hubby thought it was delicious. New chile recipe! I also cut down on the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I really liked this recipe! HOWEVER I did add 1tbs garlic powder 1tbs cumin 1 can of corn and diced jalapenos. It was simple and delicious my kiddos and fiance loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am not usually a fan of chicken chili but this recipe is great with a few changes. 1 tablespoon of pepper must be a misprint. Reduce to 1 teaspoon or less. It also needs more liquid in my opinion. I added several cups of chicken broth. With the reduced pepper and added chicken broth it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I absolutely adore this recipe I like to use a thing of light kidney beans and a thing of dark kidney beans and I mix a package of taco seasoning in it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.wilde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I wanted to try something diferent for our annual chili party. This recipe was perfect. It was different enough but still "chili" enough. I did add a 15oz can of tomato sauce because it looked a bit dry; I was concerned to potatoes might not cook fully. The spice was just right! If I cut the chili powder, I think my 2 tear old would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MileHighBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Nice chili! I cut the recipe in half but still used 2 tablespoons of chili powder, since I like it so much. I also eyeballed the black pepper since I read that this recipe called for too much. I used dark kidney beans and added a garlic clove, and also used low-sodium vegetable broth (again, eyeballed it) instead of the liquid from the beans to cut down on the sodium. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out fantastic and I would recommend this recipe for anyone who wants chicken chili but not "white chili."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was good but like other reviewers I thought it was extremely hot when I taste tested it so I added a can of tomato sauce & a can of chicken broth (then it wasn't hot enough, so I didn't win). I also poached/boiled my chicken instead of frying it to cut that fat from the veg. oil. All in all it was good but need improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Based on another review, I cut the chili powder to 1 1/2 tablespoons and only used 1 teaspoon of pepper. Additionally, I added some curry powder, a bit of brown sugar, and more corn. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
AWESOME, SO YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I gave this chili 3 stars because I like the concept of it. I like the chicken and corn and it makes a very hearty chili. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars, though, is because it is EXTREMELY spicy. My husband and I had to add 2 or 3 dollops of sour cream to our bowls because it was just too much. I think the tbsp. of pepper is a mis-print, because my mom said in all her 50 years of cooking, she has never seen a recipe that calls for that much pepper! Next time I make this I will SIGNIFICANTLY reduce the amount of pepper and probably the chili powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States