Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Fabulous. If you remember butterscotch pudding from your childhood, you have to try this. I used whole milk, real butter and regular brown sugar. My daughter has celiac disease so it is a great gluten free dessert for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wow! So good! I was out of vanilla extract so I used almond extract and it was still amazing! I don't even know if I want to try making it with vanilla as this was just so good. Easy and fast, and I already had everything in my house. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My dad absolutely loves butterscotch anything so I thought I'd take a whack at some pudding. Upon making the pudding following every ingredient I came upon some conclusions. 1.Too sugary 2. Dark brown sugar is really needed to get a true butterscotch flavor 3.The way my dad goes through pudding his arteries are going to clog in mere hours of eating all that butter. So batch 2 I made it with 2/3 cup brown sugar, added a shot of spiced golden rum (I prefer rum to scotch) ,and only used 2 tablespoons of butter. The results were much better in terms of depth of flavor. Other variations I've done using light brown sugar and 1/4 cup butter toasted pecans to get a butter pecan pudding (just add in with butter and brown sugar at beginning). You could also get a really yummy peanut butter pudding by using the light brown sugar and 2 tablespoons peanut butter added around the end. This could also easily be a caramel pudding if you desired by using regular white sugar and butter until it begins to bubble then slowly adding in a couple tablespoons of cream (because curdling sucks and caramel is so temperamental ) then adding the milk &ect. Overall really yummy though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Tastes like the box pudding, only richer! It was delightful served warm with a squirt of rediwhip on top! I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was gritty, to sweet, edible, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was good. I used half dark brown and half light brown sugar. and cut it back to 3/4 cup. Next time I'll try with all dark brown sugar to give it a richer flavour. 3/4 cup was perfect, it would've been way to sweet without it. I also mixed the sugar mixture with the cold milk and cooked it together instead of boiling the milk first. It got super thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I did 4 egg yolks instead of 3, added just a tad bit more cornstarch and changed 3 cups milk to 1 c heavy cream and 2 c milk. I did this because I wanted it thicker for pie. I also did the directions like I do for chocolate pie. I used a mixer and beat brown sugar and eggs. I added cornstarch and salt. Then did the same as written to add butter and vanilla after taking off stove. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used it to fill my granddaughters birthday cake. Flavor and texture are perfect for the application that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debem
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
still learning cook top pudding, but very easy, quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States