Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I did as others said and used dark brown sugar and it still tasted nothing like butterscotch. It had a pleasing taste but I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This seemed a tad grainy to me. I wonder if the reason you make the brown sugar slurry to start with is to lessen that effect? It's also not as firm as I normally like my puddings. The taste however was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMC101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this exactly as written. It is absolutely delicious! For us though it would make more like 8 servings because it is so rich... but it was very quick and easy to make... thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Absolutely yummy! The only thing I didn't like was that I had to add dark brown sugar to make it sweeter but other than that it was a perfect dessert! You have to tell me where you get your recipes?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Definitely use DARK brown sugar for this recipe. I used lt. brown and it just doesn't have enough of a butterscotch taste although it's still good. Just the fact that it's home made makes it good and it's so comforting. I'm going to take another reviewers advice and add a bit of butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yum...It is worth the trip to the grocery store to get the dark brown sugar. Very rich pudding, but oh, so good on a cold evening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I was really looking forward to tasting the result of this recipe, because I live in a foreign country and butterscotch flavored anything cannot be found here. Unfortunately, I found the flavor very mild, with more of just a "sweet" taste than anything else. Mid-way through cooking, however, I tasted the milk/sugar mixture, just before putting in the egg, and before adding the vanilla. I actually thought that it tasted more like butterscotch at that point, than at the end. I think I will try this again, but I will make some changes. I will either increase the amount of brown sugar used in the recipe, or I will try using dark brown sugar instead of the light brown sugar that I used. Also, I think I will omit the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Meh, I didn't think this recipe was that great, tasted like milk and brown sugar to me. But I was in a pinch, I ran out of my 5 year old's fav pudding, so i whipped this up, he ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Awsome. I have been looking for a good butterscotch pudding for a long time! The only change I made was to add a bit of butterscotch schnapps - I like it Really butterscotchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written, using dark brown sugar. My only confusion was that the ingredients called for 3 cups milk and it wasn't clear in the instructions whether the "enough milk to make thick paste" was from this 3 cups or in addition to the 3 cups. I assumed it was included in the three cups. Anyway, the pudding ended up not setting as well as I would like, after refrigerating overnight it is kind of soft-set. What I don't like about it is it has a floury taste/texture. Since I did not use flour I assume that is the cornstarch. So I obviously did something wrong in the cooking...maybe I didn't get the milk boiling hard enough before adding the cornstarch/sugar mixture? I plan to try this one more time to see if I can get it to come out better, if not I will move on to another recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States