Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I was really looking forward to tasting the result of this recipe, because I live in a foreign country and butterscotch flavored anything cannot be found here. Unfortunately, I found the flavor very mild, with more of just a "sweet" taste than anything else. Mid-way through cooking, however, I tasted the milk/sugar mixture, just before putting in the egg, and before adding the vanilla. I actually thought that it tasted more like butterscotch at that point, than at the end. I think I will try this again, but I will make some changes. I will either increase the amount of brown sugar used in the recipe, or I will try using dark brown sugar instead of the light brown sugar that I used. Also, I think I will omit the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Awesome- so super creamy! I added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch because the other reviews had me worried about the pudding setting up. I'm not sure if I really needed it but it turned out fabulous! The perfect comfort food in the middle of a South Dakota snowstorm! My husband snitched so much of it that I had to make another batch to have enough for our kids! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Awsome. I have been looking for a good butterscotch pudding for a long time! The only change I made was to add a bit of butterscotch schnapps - I like it Really butterscotchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
yum yum! Don't stir again after you finish stirring the butter in, or it will get grainy. I also added about a tablespoon of scotch whiskey for flavor- it is butterSCOTCH, after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This beats packaged butterscotch pudding! Really liked it and can't wait to fix it for my daughter and family when they come to Wyoming to visit. Butterscotch is her very favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. Use real butter and even better with slightly less sugar and only two egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Much better than packaged pudding. Its worth it if you have the time and want to try it from scratch. Don't expect the overly strong, pre-processed taste. This butterscotch flavor is more subtle. I was a little paranoid about the tempering part but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
YUM! I wish I had used dark brown sugar but it still was a wonderful treat! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I made pie for dessert with this recipe. Everyone really loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Great flavor, especially warm. Faster to make than homemade puddings which don't use cornstarch, but didn't really set up until chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States